Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-416 · National Institutes of Health

Open

NIGMS National and Regional Resources (R24 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jun 14, 2027
Posted
Jun 11, 2025
Last verified
8 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds national or regional shared resources that provide state-of-the-art technologies, methods, expertise, equipment, software, or specialized research materials to a large number of investigators, typically more than 100. It is for established resources or new ones created by consolidating existing facilities, and it does not support synchrotron-based resources, stand-alone data repositories, or clinical biospecimen repositories. Eligible applicants include many kinds of U.S. organizations, including nonprofits, universities, governments, small businesses, and tribal organizations, but foreign organizations and foreign components are not eligible. There is no cost-sharing requirement, budgets are not limited but must fit the project, and awards may be requested for up to five years. Applicants must be domestic and the resource must provide open access, with priority for NIH-funded and other U.S.-based academic researchers and at least 75% of active instrument time dedicated to open access use.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Infrastructure, Construction & Shared Facilities
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) encourages applications for support of resources that will provide access to state-of-the-art equipment, technologies, research tools, materials, organisms, software, and/or services to a substantial regional (multi-state) or national user base. Only those resources with technical capabilities that fall within the NIGMS-supported program areas are eligible for awards. The resources should already be established or may be formed through consolidation of existing local or regional facilities. The intent is to provide resource access to investigators without regard to the specific biomedical focus of their research, while not duplicating or replacing resources supported by sources such as other NIH Institutes and Centers (ICs) or host institutions. The resource is expected to be maintained or upgraded to current best practices, make its capabilities and availability known to the biomedical research community through a robust web presence and outreach activities, and provide user training and support.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.859 · Biomedical Research and Research Training

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.859), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 1,048 $420,000 $325,870 – $487,506
FY 2025 1,115
FY 2024 1,171
FY 2023 1,383
FY 2022 1,574
FY 2021 1,321

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 7,612 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,024), Nonprofit (734), Business (565) of 7,612 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (149) · NY (81) · TX (73) · PA (60) · MA (55)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI MEDICAL CENTER $5,185,402 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $3,654,310 · FY 2026
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $2,993,000 · FY 2026
  4. BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $2,843,142 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF LOUISVILLE $2,652,150 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026