Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. 20260916-RZ · National Endowment for the Humanities

Open

Collaborative Research

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$1 – $250,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 16, 2026 14 days left
Posted
Jul 7, 2026
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Humanities
Official description from grants.gov

The program supports groups of two or more scholars increasing humanistic knowledge through the preparation of a manuscript for print publication, the creation of a scholarly digital project, or the planning of an international collaboration. Projects must pursue significant research questions and lead toward an interpretive product. This year’s competition is limited to projects on American history and culture or Western civilization.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 45.035 · Collaborative Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (45.035), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 0
FY 2024 5 $209,375 $50,000 – $247,131
FY 2023 3 $250,000 $224,869 – $250,563
FY 2022 0
FY 2021 1 $248,762 $248,762 – $248,762

For comparison, this notice advertises $1 – $250,000.

Who wins it Higher education (8) of 9 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states MI (2) · NC (2) · CA (1) · FL (1) · MA (1)
Largest recent awards
  1. WINSTON-SALEM STATE UNIVERSITY $283,189 · FY 2024
  2. DUKE UNIVERSITY $251,125 · FY 2023
  3. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH FLORIDA $250,000 · FY 2023
  4. CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, STANISLAUS $248,762 · FY 2021
  5. CENTRAL WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY $247,131 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 28, 2026