Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. USDA-NIFA-1890SS-011978 · National Institute of Food and Agriculture

Open

Scholarships for Students at 1890 Institutions (1890 Scholarships)

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$1,111,578 – $5,557,890
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 10, 2026 8 days left
Posted
Aug 10, 2026
Last verified
4 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Agriculture
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of the 1890 Scholarships Program, under Assistance Listing Number 10.524, is to provide scholarships to support recruiting, engaging, retaining, mentoring, and training of undergraduate and graduate students at the 1890 Land-grant institutions. These scholarships are intended to encourage outstanding students at 1890 institutions to pursue and complete baccalaureate and graduate (i.e., master’s and doctoral) degrees in the food and agricultural sciences (see Appendix III for definition) that would lead to a highly skilled food and agricultural systems workforce.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 10.524 · Scholarships for Students at 1890 Institutions

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (10.524), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 20 $505,263 $505,263 – $505,263
FY 2024 38 $505,263 $505,263 – $505,263
FY 2023 37 $521,052 $505,263 – $521,052
FY 2022 38 $502,632 $500,000 – $505,263
FY 2021 38 $513,158 $500,000 – $526,316

For comparison, this notice advertises $1,111,578 – $5,557,890.

Who wins it Higher education (171) of 171 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states AL (18) · DE (10) · AR (9) · FL (9) · GA (9)
Largest recent awards
  1. DELAWARE STATE UNIVERSITY $1,920,000 · FY 2025
  2. ALABAMA A & M UNIVERSITY $526,316 · FY 2021
  3. ALCORN STATE UNIVERSITY $526,316 · FY 2021
  4. CENTRAL STATE UNIVERSITY $526,316 · FY 2021
  5. FLORIDA A & M UNIVERSITY $526,316 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 11, 2026