Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. HT942526NFRPSIA · Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA

Open

DoW Neurofibromatosis Synergistic Idea Award

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~2
Application deadline
Sep 22, 2026 20 days left
Posted
Jun 25, 2026
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

The FY26 Neurofibromatosis Synergistic Idea Award funds new, synergistic research on neurofibromatosis involving two or three principal investigators. It is open to eligible U.S. Department of War organizations, including foreign and domestic, for-profit and nonprofit, and public or private entities; each PI must be at least assistant professor level or equivalent and commit at least 10% effort each budget year. The program expects to fund about two awards with roughly $6.4 million total, and the combined total costs for each award may not exceed $3.2 million over a maximum 3-year period. Cost sharing is not required, and clinical trials are not allowed.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
Official description from grants.gov

Summary: The fiscal year 2026 (FY26) Neurofibromatosis Research Program (NFRP) Synergistic Idea Award (SIA) supports new ideas that represent synergistic approaches to neurofibromatosis (NF) research involving two or three Principal Investigators (PIs). These investigators should utilize their complementary and synergistic perspectives to address a central problem or question in NF research. Applications must include preliminary and/or published data that are relevant to NF and the proposed research project. Distinctive Features: • Partnering Principal Investigators: One PI will be identified as the Initiating PI and will be responsible for the majority of the administrative tasks associated with application submission. An additional one or two PI(s) will be identified as a Partnering PI. Each partner will be recognized as a PI, submit a separate application (even if the partners are at the same organization), and receive an individual award.

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 12.420 · Military Medical Research and Development

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (12.420), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 374 $934,195 $559,998 – $1,477,811
FY 2025 967 $796,174 $416,995 – $1,480,602
FY 2024 1,097
FY 2023 1,115
FY 2022 1,186
FY 2021 1,023

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,762 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Business (127), Nonprofit (34), Higher education (2) of 5,762 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (135) · TX (103) · NY (99) · MA (74) · MD (38)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERISTY OF TEXAS M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER $19,100,256 · FY 2025
  2. H. LEE MOFFITT CANCER CENTER AND RESEARCH INSTITUTE HOSPITAL, INC. $18,696,738 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $10,606,583 · FY 2025
  4. SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $10,500,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF VERMONT & STATE AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE $8,491,997 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 25, 2026