Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. HT942526NFRPEHDA · Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA

Open

DoW Neurofibromatosis Exploration-Hypothesis Development Award

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~8
Application deadline
Sep 22, 2026 20 days left
Posted
Jun 25, 2026
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds exploratory, high-risk neurofibromatosis research that is innovative and based on a testable hypothesis. Eligible applicants include U.S. Department of War organizations as well as foreign or domestic, for-profit or nonprofit, public or private organizations, and investigators at all academic levels may serve as principal investigator. The program expects to fund about 8 awards at a total cost cap of $160,000 each, with a maximum performance period of 2 years. Cost sharing is not required, clinical trials are not allowed, and awards are made only to eligible organizations.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
Official description from grants.gov

Summary: The fiscal year 2026 (FY26) Neurofibromatosis Research Program (NFRP) Exploration-Hypothesis Development Award (EHDA) supports the initial exploration of innovative, high-risk, high-gain, and potentially groundbreaking concepts in neurofibromatosis (NF) research. Studies supported by this award mechanism should lay the groundwork for future avenues of scientific investigation. The proposed research project should include a well-formulated, testable hypothesis based on strong scientific rationale and study design. Distinctive Features: • Innovation: The proposed research project should be innovative. Innovative research may introduce a novel paradigm, challenge existing paradigms, examine existing problems from novel perspectives, or exhibit other highly creative qualities. • Preliminary Data: Preliminary and/or published data is encouraged but not required.

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 12.420 · Military Medical Research and Development

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (12.420), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 374 $934,195 $559,998 – $1,477,811
FY 2025 967 $796,174 $416,995 – $1,480,602
FY 2024 1,097
FY 2023 1,115
FY 2022 1,186
FY 2021 1,023

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,762 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Business (127), Nonprofit (34), Higher education (2) of 5,762 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (135) · TX (103) · NY (99) · MA (74) · MD (38)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERISTY OF TEXAS M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER $19,100,256 · FY 2025
  2. H. LEE MOFFITT CANCER CENTER AND RESEARCH INSTITUTE HOSPITAL, INC. $18,696,738 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $10,606,583 · FY 2025
  4. SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $10,500,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF VERMONT & STATE AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE $8,491,997 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 25, 2026