Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. HT942526NFRPIIRA · Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA

Open

DoW Neurofibromatosis Investigator-Initiated Research Award

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~7
Application deadline
Sep 22, 2026 20 days left
Posted
Jun 25, 2026
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds high-impact neurofibromatosis research that can advance understanding, diagnosis, treatment, or patient care, and it does not allow clinical trials. Eligible applicants include U.S. Department of War organizations as well as foreign or domestic, for-profit or nonprofit, and public or private organizations; the principal investigator must be at least an assistant professor or equivalent and commit at least 10% effort. The award has two funding levels: Level 1 awards are capped at $840,000 in total costs and Level 2 awards are capped at $920,000, with approximately five Level 1 awards and two Level 2 awards expected. The maximum project period is 3 years, cost sharing is not required, and awards are made to organizations rather than individuals. There are no geographic restrictions stated, but projects using the Open Science Initiative or a qualified collaborator may be eligible for the higher funding level.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
Official description from grants.gov

Summary: The fiscal year 2026 (FY26) Neurofibromatosis Research Program (NFRP) Investigator-Initiated Research Award (IIRA) supports high-impact research that addresses a critical need and has the potential to make important contributions to the field of neurofibromatosis disorders or advance patient care. Research projects may focus on any phase of research, excluding clinical trials. The rationale for a research idea may be derived from laboratory discovery, population-based studies, a clinician’s firsthand knowledge of patients, or anecdotal data. Applications must include preliminary and/or published data that are relevant to NF and the proposed research project. Distinctive Features: This award mechanism offers two funding levels based on participation in two optional features: • Open Science Initiative: Catalyzes research for neurofibromatosis through early access to data and data sharing within the neurofibromatosis community. • Optional Qualified Collaborator: Encourages collaborative research between basic scientists and clinical researchers, and between academic and biotechnology scientists. The funding levels are defined as follows: • Level 1: Applications without an optional feature. • Level 2: Applications including one of the optional features.

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 12.420 · Military Medical Research and Development

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (12.420), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 374 $934,195 $559,998 – $1,477,811
FY 2025 967 $796,174 $416,995 – $1,480,602
FY 2024 1,097
FY 2023 1,115
FY 2022 1,186
FY 2021 1,023

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,762 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Business (127), Nonprofit (34), Higher education (2) of 5,762 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (135) · TX (103) · NY (99) · MA (74) · MD (38)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERISTY OF TEXAS M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER $19,100,256 · FY 2025
  2. H. LEE MOFFITT CANCER CENTER AND RESEARCH INSTITUTE HOSPITAL, INC. $18,696,738 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $10,606,583 · FY 2025
  4. SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $10,500,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF VERMONT & STATE AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE $8,491,997 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 25, 2026