No. HT942526NFRPNFRASA · Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA
DoW Neurofibromatosis Research Academy – Scholar Award
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- ~3
- Application deadline
- Sep 22, 2026 20 days left
- Posted
- Jun 25, 2026
- Last verified
- Today
At a glance
AI summaryThis award funds neurofibromatosis research and supports a Scholar’s career development and move toward independence as an NF researcher. Eligible applicants are extramural organizations and intramural DoD organizations, with pre-applications submitted through eBRAP and full applications submitted through Grants.gov by extramural applicants or through eBRAP by intramural DoD organizations. The announcement does not state the award amount or number of awards in the text provided, and it does not mention a cost-share requirement. For applications involving animals, an animal research plan is required, and the Scholar’s institution must provide independent lab space and protect at least 50% of the PI’s time and effort for the award period.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
Summary: The fiscal year 2026 (FY26) Neurofibromatosis Research Program (NFRP) Neurofibromatosis Research Academy – Scholar Award (NFRA-SA) supports early-career independent investigators (Scholars) joining the Neurofibromatosis Research Academy to pursue a neurofibromatosis project that may include basic, translational, and/or clinical research. The proposed research should address at least one of the FY26 NFRP Areas of Emphasis, under the leadership of the NFRA Director and Deputy Director. The overarching goal of the NFRA is to conduct innovative and impactful research in the field of neurofibromatosis disorders while developing successful, highly productive NF researchers in a collaborative research and career development environment. Distinctive Features: • Scholar: The Scholar, named as the Principal Investigator, must be less than 10 years of completion of their terminal degree by the time of the application deadline (excluding time spent in residency, clinical training, or on family medical leave). • Career Guide: This award mechanism requires each Scholar to designate a Career Guide for guidance. The Career Guide is not required to be at the same institution as the Scholar; however, if the (primary) Career Guide is from a different institution, the application must identify a secondary Career Guide at the Scholar’s institution.
Who can apply
- Unrestricted
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 12.420 · Military Medical Research and Development
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (12.420), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 374 | $934,195 | $559,998 – $1,477,811 |
| FY 2025 | 967 | $796,174 | $416,995 – $1,480,602 |
| FY 2024 | 1,097 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,115 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,186 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,023 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,762 — award counts are complete.
- THE UNIVERISTY OF TEXAS M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER $19,100,256 · FY 2025
- H. LEE MOFFITT CANCER CENTER AND RESEARCH INSTITUTE HOSPITAL, INC. $18,696,738 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $10,606,583 · FY 2025
- SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $10,500,000 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF VERMONT & STATE AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE $8,491,997 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 25, 2026