Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-374 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Translational Bioinformatics and Experimental Approaches to Advance Drug Repositioning and Combination Therapy Development for Alzheimers Disease and Related Dementias (R01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Up to $1,000,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
May 7, 2028
Posted
Dec 30, 2024
Last verified
7 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program supports preclinical studies to test existing or investigational drugs, drug combinations, and some combinations with non-drug interventions for Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias. Applicants must be eligible organizations such as nonprofits, universities, governments, businesses, tribal entities, and foreign organizations, and clinical trials are not allowed. NIA plans to spend $6 million in fiscal year 2026 for 4 to 5 awards, with budgets capped at $1 million in direct costs per year and project periods up to 5 years. No cost sharing is required, and foreign organizations and foreign components of U.S. organizations are allowed.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) invites applications that propose to use mouse models to conduct rigorous preclinical testing of drugs or drug combinations currently used for other conditions, as well as investigational drugs at various stages of clinical development, predicted to be efficacious in AD/ADRD. This initiative will also support preclinical testing of repurposable or investigational drug candidates in combination with non-pharmacologic interventions leading to robust translational outcomes. The central goal is to establish robust proof of concept that will enable rational drug repurposing and combination therapy development for the treatment and prevention of AD/ADRD.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 795 $493,972 $248,999 – $713,195
FY 2025 1,033 $643,089 $467,538 – $1,733,010
FY 2024 1,560
FY 2023 1,539
FY 2022 1,715
FY 2021 1,595

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $1,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,015), Nonprofit (1,370), Business (538) of 8,237 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (110) · MA (100) · TX (57) · PA (41)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
  4. SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
  5. TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026