No. PAR-25-346 · National Institutes of Health
Exploratory/Developmental Bioengineering Research Grants (EBRG) (R21 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Jan 7, 2028
- Posted
- Dec 11, 2024
- Last verified
- 2 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis grant funds exploratory bioengineering research to test new capabilities or improvements for basic biomedical, pre-clinical, or clinical research, clinical care delivery, or accessibility. It uses the NIH R21 grant mechanism and does not allow clinical trials. Eligible applicants include U.S. and non-U.S. organizations such as universities, nonprofits, for-profits, governments, tribes, and foreign organizations, and foreign components of U.S. organizations are allowed. The total direct cost budget for the two-year project period may not exceed $275,000, with no more than $200,000 in any single year, and the program did not state a required cost share. The number of awards depends on NIH appropriations and the quality of applications.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
Through this engineering-oriented Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO), the National Cancer Institute (NCI) intends to encourage submissions of exploratory/developmental Bioengineering Research Grant (EBRG) applications to demonstrate feasibility and potential utility of new capabilities or improvements in quality, speed, efficacy, operability, costs, and/or accessibility of solutions to problems in basic biomedical, pre-clinical, or clinical research, clinical care delivery, or accessibility.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.121 · Oral Diseases and Disorders Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.121), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 155 | $429,000 | $306,500 – $571,863 |
| FY 2025 | 277 | $429,000 | $310,295 – $829,259 |
| FY 2024 | 301 | $491,193 | $310,985 – $1,283,003 |
| FY 2023 | 320 | $444,000 | $298,673 – $1,756,575 |
| FY 2022 | 295 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 305 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,653 — award counts are complete.
- TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $6,128,166 · FY 2023
- THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,961,133 · FY 2023
- RESEARCH FOUNDATION OF THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK $4,002,156 · FY 2023
- DANA-FARBER CANCER INSTITUTE, INC. $3,742,682 · FY 2025
- TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $3,736,064 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026
Assistance listing 93.393 · Cancer Cause and Prevention Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.393), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 167 | $596,996 | $422,899 – $685,984 |
| FY 2025 | 233 | $743,438 | $397,772 – $1,287,560 |
| FY 2024 | 331 | $1,232,605 | $403,858 – $1,928,145 |
| FY 2023 | 333 | $1,580,141 | $399,888 – $2,324,497 |
| FY 2022 | 371 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 317 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,752 — award counts are complete.
- HEALTH RESEARCH, INC. $8,975,418 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $7,529,016 · FY 2024
- WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES $7,411,948 · FY 2023
- VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER $7,120,874 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $6,827,635 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026
Assistance listing 93.394 · Cancer Detection and Diagnosis Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.394), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 137 | $595,012 | $414,585 – $662,610 |
| FY 2025 | 184 | $726,875 | $399,923 – $1,297,708 |
| FY 2024 | 215 | $1,129,641 | $414,953 – $1,862,878 |
| FY 2023 | 268 | $1,754,736 | $438,924 – $2,398,100 |
| FY 2022 | 277 | $2,036,627 | $596,368 – $3,077,027 |
| FY 2021 | 269 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,350 — award counts are complete.
- TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $8,347,015 · FY 2022
- BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $6,630,183 · FY 2022
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $6,618,085 · FY 2022
- SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,181,895 · FY 2022
- OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $5,771,926 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026
Assistance listing 93.395 · Cancer Treatment Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.395), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 316 | $565,152 | $413,691 – $664,926 |
| FY 2025 | 435 | $677,787 | $402,400 – $1,233,798 |
| FY 2024 | 488 | $1,140,586 | $408,966 – $1,897,871 |
| FY 2023 | 522 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 519 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 517 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,797 — award counts are complete.
- THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER $6,902,371 · FY 2024
- VIRGINIA COMMONWEALTH UNIVERSITY $5,325,147 · FY 2024
- MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,597,865 · FY 2024
- PRIVO TECHNOLOGIES, INC. $4,499,992 · FY 2024
- FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $4,234,248 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.396 · Cancer Biology Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.396), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 289 | $565,909 | $400,614 – $660,808 |
| FY 2025 | 261 | $975,084 | $432,098 – $1,309,674 |
| FY 2024 | 333 | $1,287,771 | $456,103 – $1,958,901 |
| FY 2023 | 383 | $1,541,433 | $747,000 – $2,025,032 |
| FY 2022 | 401 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 396 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,063 — award counts are complete.
- RUTGERS, THE STATE UNIVERSITY $11,640,000 · FY 2024
- TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $7,902,036 · FY 2023
- SANFORD BURNHAM PREBYS MEDICAL DISCOVERY INSTITUTE $6,972,263 · FY 2024
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $5,522,226 · FY 2024
- WEILL MEDICAL COLLEGE OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY $5,035,979 · FY 2024
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026
Assistance listing 93.399 · Cancer Control
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.399), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2025 | 1 | $2,490,206 | $2,490,206 – $2,490,206 |
| FY 2024 | 13 | $3,165,783 | $804,361 – $3,227,950 |
| FY 2023 | 7 | $1,121,797 | $947,583 – $1,353,065 |
| FY 2022 | 14 | $4,573,965 | $2,523,875 – $6,154,995 |
| FY 2021 | 5 | $3,186,801 | $2,957,140 – $3,199,301 |
- UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE $16,730,455 · FY 2021
- VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE & STATE UNIVERSITY $8,183,001 · FY 2022
- FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $7,696,898 · FY 2022
- THE INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,471,989 · FY 2022
- WEILL MEDICAL COLLEGE OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY $4,655,326 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026