No. PAR-24-330 · National Institutes of Health
Interventions to Reduce Sleep Health Disparities (R01 - Clinical Trials Optional)
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Sep 7, 2027
- Posted
- Dec 6, 2024
- Last verified
- 7 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis NOFO supports non-pharmacological intervention research to promote sleep health, treat sleep disorders, and reduce sleep health disparities among NIH-designated populations that experience health disparities in the U.S. and its territories. It includes studies on behavioral, social, environmental, structural, and policy approaches, and it encourages work across the life course and in community, clinical, school, workplace, and other settings. The text says awards are R01 grants, but it does not state the number or size of awards in the provided text. For some NIH institutes, there are additional limits: NINDS will support only mechanistic clinical trials and not trials of safety, efficacy, effectiveness, or implementation; NHLBI will accept mechanistic clinical trials only; and institute-specific interests are listed for cancer, aging, neurological disorders, and alcohol-related sleep disparities.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
This PAR is being reissued in accordance with the simplified review criteria in effect for application due dates after January 25, 2025. The objective of this funding opportunity is to support non-pharmacological interventions to promote sleep health, reduce sleep health disparities, and examine sleep as a modifiable factor to reduce health disparities for other health outcomes among populations that experience health disparities.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.233 · National Center on Sleep Disorders Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.233), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026
Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 100 | $308,491 | $157,932 – $601,291 |
| FY 2025 | 175 | $440,566 | $194,934 – $1,114,948 |
| FY 2024 | 237 | $420,927 | $153,632 – $1,110,810 |
| FY 2023 | 327 | $619,032 | $350,328 – $1,806,361 |
| FY 2022 | 314 | $897,120 | $369,477 – $2,547,224 |
| FY 2021 | 274 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,427 — award counts are complete.
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $36,249,682 · FY 2022
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,079,530 · FY 2022
- BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $6,335,676 · FY 2023
- VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $5,361,769 · FY 2024
- LOHOCLA RESEARCH CORP $5,128,513 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026
Assistance listing 93.307 · Minority Health and Health Disparities Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.307), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 40 | $768,076 | $248,928 – $851,492 |
| FY 2025 | 57 | $604,863 | $333,504 – $1,512,644 |
| FY 2024 | 182 | $465,783 | $308,121 – $1,983,267 |
| FY 2023 | 212 | $1,299,549 | $438,782 – $2,594,510 |
| FY 2022 | 249 | $1,408,033 | $444,695 – $2,988,012 |
| FY 2021 | 168 | $2,071,562 | $431,619 – $3,273,896 |
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $40,426,614 · FY 2021
- UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $30,744,792 · FY 2021
- CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL LOS ANGELES $27,816,472 · FY 2021
- UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA AT BIRMINGHAM $27,671,310 · FY 2021
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $24,809,662 · FY 2021
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.361 · Nursing Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.361), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 53 | $732,795 | $180,941 – $1,130,466 |
| FY 2025 | 62 | $675,031 | $385,758 – $1,535,483 |
| FY 2024 | 98 | $473,202 | $285,582 – $1,868,705 |
| FY 2023 | 102 | $758,157 | $158,307 – $2,468,665 |
| FY 2022 | 118 | $493,973 | $295,328 – $2,431,395 |
| FY 2021 | 108 | $478,145 | $361,349 – $2,696,899 |
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $13,344,757 · FY 2022
- THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $10,385,570 · FY 2025
- BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $8,282,292 · FY 2021
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $6,476,031 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $4,547,851 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026
Assistance listing 93.399 · Cancer Control
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.399), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2025 | 1 | $2,490,206 | $2,490,206 – $2,490,206 |
| FY 2024 | 13 | $3,165,783 | $804,361 – $3,227,950 |
| FY 2023 | 7 | $1,121,797 | $947,583 – $1,353,065 |
| FY 2022 | 14 | $4,573,965 | $2,523,875 – $6,154,995 |
| FY 2021 | 5 | $3,186,801 | $2,957,140 – $3,199,301 |
- UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE $16,730,455 · FY 2021
- VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE & STATE UNIVERSITY $8,183,001 · FY 2022
- FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $7,696,898 · FY 2022
- THE INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,471,989 · FY 2022
- WEILL MEDICAL COLLEGE OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY $4,655,326 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026
Assistance listing 93.837 · Cardiovascular Diseases Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.837), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 910 | $406,108 | $121,423 – $769,962 |
| FY 2025 | 1,358 | $638,002 | $257,444 – $1,262,955 |
| FY 2024 | 1,513 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,478 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,536 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,389 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,184 — award counts are complete.
- CHILDRENS HOSPITAL MEDICAL CENTER $6,452,040 · FY 2026
- KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS $3,918,561 · FY 2025
- ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $3,605,083 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH - OF THE COMMONWEALTH SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION $3,229,552 · FY 2026
- NORTHERN CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATION, INC. $3,002,716 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026
Assistance listing 93.838 · Lung Diseases Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.838), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.839 · Blood Diseases and Resources Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.839), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.840 · Translation and Implementation Science Research for Heart, Lung, Blood Diseases, and Sleep Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.840), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2025 | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2024 | 1 | $1,998,060 | $1,998,060 – $1,998,060 |
| FY 2023 | 8 | $718,015 | $520,326 – $1,181,909 |
| FY 2022 | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 0 | — | — |
- MICHIGAN PUBLIC HEALTH INSTITUTE $1,332,220 · FY 2023
- INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH $1,304,518 · FY 2023
- MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH $1,141,039 · FY 2023
- SOUTHERN NEVADA HEALTH DIST $762,811 · FY 2023
- COUNTY OF CHARLESTON $673,219 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 654 | $405,461 | $120,825 – $587,738 |
| FY 2025 | 923 | $491,085 | $157,949 – $1,077,840 |
| FY 2024 | 1,031 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,194 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,228 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,132 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
- YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
- MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 795 | $493,972 | $248,999 – $713,195 |
| FY 2025 | 1,033 | $643,089 | $467,538 – $1,733,010 |
| FY 2024 | 1,560 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,539 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,715 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,595 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
- SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
- TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026