Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-333 · National Institutes of Health

Open

NIDCR Dual Degree Dentist Scientist Pathway to Independence Award (K99/R00 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Funding Instrument Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
May 7, 2028
Posted
Jun 17, 2025
Last verified
3 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program supports dual degree dentist scientists with a DDS or DMD and a PhD who are in mentored postdoctoral training and have no more than 4 years of postdoctoral research experience. It funds up to 7 years total in two phases: up to 2 years of mentored K99 support and 3 or 5 years of R00 independent research support, with the longer R00 period available for some awardees in a U.S. dental school plus a clinical specialty program. For extramural awards, NIDCR will contribute up to $100,000 per year for K99 salary and $25,000 per year for K99 research development costs, and the R00 phase may not exceed $249,000 per year total cost. Clinical trials are not allowed, foreign organizations and non-U.S. components of U.S. organizations are not eligible, and there is no citizenship requirement for candidates.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of the NIDCR Dual Degree Dentist Scientist Pathway to Independence Award (K99/R00) program is to develop and maintain a strong cohort of independently funded dentist scientists dedicated to improving dental, oral and craniofacial health. This program is designed to facilitate a timely transition of outstanding dual degree dentist scientists from mentored, postdoctoral research positions to independent, tenure-track or equivalent faculty positions by providing support for two years of mentored training and three to five years of independent research. An option for five years of independent (R00) support is available to accommodate clinical training in a dental specialty program at no more than 3 person-months effort (25% full-time professional effort) in any year of the R00 phase.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.121 · Oral Diseases and Disorders Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.121), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 155 $429,000 $306,500 – $571,863
FY 2025 277 $429,000 $310,295 – $829,259
FY 2024 301 $491,193 $310,985 – $1,283,003
FY 2023 320 $444,000 $298,673 – $1,756,575
FY 2022 295
FY 2021 305

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,653 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,224), Nonprofit (242), Business (71) of 1,653 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (124) · PA (83) · MA (82) · NY (70) · TX (35)
Largest recent awards
  1. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $6,128,166 · FY 2023
  2. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,961,133 · FY 2023
  3. RESEARCH FOUNDATION OF THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK $4,002,156 · FY 2023
  4. DANA-FARBER CANCER INSTITUTE, INC. $3,742,682 · FY 2025
  5. TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $3,736,064 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026