Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-358 · National Institutes of Health

Open

NEI Clinical Research Study Planning Grant Program (R34 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Up to $150,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 7, 2028
Posted
Jan 10, 2025
Last verified
7 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This grant funds planning work for future eye and vision clinical studies or epidemiologic studies, including protocol development, manuals of procedures, statistical plans, collaboration arrangements, data tools, monitoring plans, and limited preliminary work to test procedures or recruitment feasibility. It does not fund clinical trials, preclinical or animal studies, or research meant to generate data on the effect of an intervention. Eligible applicants include a wide range of organizations, including nonprofits, universities, governments, for-profit organizations, tribal entities, and foreign organizations, and foreign components of U.S. organizations are allowed. Awards provide up to $150,000 in direct costs per year plus applicable consortium F&A, for up to two years, and no cost sharing is required. The number of awards depends on NIH appropriations and the quality of applications.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Planning & Coordination
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

The NEI supports large-scale clinical vision research projects, including randomized clinical trials and epidemiologic studies on eye/vision conditions. At the time of submission, applications requesting support for these activities are expected to provide detailed information regarding the study rationale, design, analytic methods, protocols and procedures, facilities and environment, organizational structure, and collaborative arrangements. This information is best conveyed in a study protocol and Manual of Procedures (MOP), the development of which represents a costly and time-consuming activity. This clinical research planning grant funding opportunity supports applicants in their planning efforts to conduct collaborative clinical research. The grant may be used to support the development of a study protocol and MOP, as well as to conduct preliminary studies to refine study procedures or document recruitment potential. The grant must not be used to generate data on the effects of a proposed intervention. This NEI NOFO is applicable to both epidemiologic and clinical trial research studies.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.867 · Vision Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.867), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 189 $440,263 $132,837 – $633,742
FY 2025 309 $464,903 $260,661 – $1,026,742
FY 2024 408 $630,967 $342,920 – $1,431,708
FY 2023 401 $771,099 $422,359 – $1,867,311
FY 2022 391
FY 2021 394

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $150,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,092 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,564), Nonprofit (300), Business (168) of 2,092 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (182) · NY (96) · MA (90) · MD (48) · TX (48)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $8,283,963 · FY 2024
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,256,090 · FY 2023
  3. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $4,539,043 · FY 2025
  4. ALLEN INSTITUTE $4,260,011 · FY 2025
  5. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,026,010 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026