No. PAR-25-383 · National Institutes of Health
Blueprint MedTech Translator (UG3/UH3 - Clinical Trial Optional)
No audit required
“Applicant organizations must complete and maintain the following registrations as described in the How to Apply- Application Guide to be eligible to apply for or receive an award.” — From the announcement
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Jan 28, 2028
- Posted
- Jun 17, 2025
- Last verified
- 2 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis program funds translational activities and clinical studies to advance therapeutic and diagnostic medical devices for disorders within the missions of participating NIH institutes and the HEAL and BRAIN Initiatives. It uses a two-phase UG3/UH3 cooperative agreement, with the UG3 supporting device development and regulatory preparation and the UH3 supporting a clinical study. Awards are not limited in budget, but the number of awards depends on NIH funds and the quality of applications, and the total project period may not exceed five years. Eligible applicants include nonprofits, universities, for-profit organizations, governments, tribal entities, faith-based and community-based organizations, and foreign organizations; foreign components and non-U.S. organizations are allowed. There is no cost-share requirement stated.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The purpose of this announcement is to encourage investigators to pursue translational activities and clinical feasibility studies to advance the development of therapeutic, and diagnostic devices for disorders that affect the nervous or neuromuscular systems. Activities supported in this program include implementation of clinical prototype devices, non-clinical safety and efficacy testing, design verification and validation activities, obtaining an Investigational Device Exemption (IDE) for a Significant Risk (SR) study or Institutional Review Board (IRB) approval for a Non-Significant Risk (NSR) study, as well as a subsequent clinical feasibility study. The clinical study is expected to provide information about the device function or final design that cannot be practically obtained through additional non-clinical assessments (e.g., bench top or animal studies) due to the novelty of the device or its intended use. This FOA is a milestone-driven cooperative agreement program and will involve participation of NIH program staff in negotiating the final project plan before award and monitoring of research progress. Participants in Blueprint MedTech receive funding for all activities to be conducted in their own laboratories. In addition, applicants will collaborate with NIH-funded consultants to receive assistance with specialty areas including regulatory, reimbursement, intellectual property, commercialization, and strategic partnerships. Participants can also augment their project with NIH contract research organizations that specialize in large animal testing, sterilization testing, biocompatibility assessment, manufacturing, and medical monitoring. Individuals, institutions, or businesses developing their own devices or that already have established collaborations with device manufacturers are welcome to apply directly to this NOFO or any of the companion opportunities. For more information see BP MedTech website.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.121 · Oral Diseases and Disorders Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.121), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 155 | $429,000 | $306,500 – $571,863 |
| FY 2025 | 277 | $429,000 | $310,295 – $829,259 |
| FY 2024 | 301 | $491,193 | $310,985 – $1,283,003 |
| FY 2023 | 320 | $444,000 | $298,673 – $1,756,575 |
| FY 2022 | 295 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 305 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,653 — award counts are complete.
- TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $6,128,166 · FY 2023
- THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,961,133 · FY 2023
- RESEARCH FOUNDATION OF THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK $4,002,156 · FY 2023
- DANA-FARBER CANCER INSTITUTE, INC. $3,742,682 · FY 2025
- TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $3,736,064 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026
Assistance listing 93.213 · Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.213), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 58 | $441,813 | $190,230 – $676,906 |
| FY 2025 | 51 | $472,500 | $321,065 – $1,329,943 |
| FY 2024 | 100 | $562,397 | $286,558 – $1,285,052 |
| FY 2023 | 92 | $695,557 | $380,313 – $1,709,004 |
| FY 2022 | 94 | $715,153 | $419,983 – $1,985,928 |
| FY 2021 | 92 | $1,686,420 | $625,217 – $3,082,386 |
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $21,646,919 · FY 2022
- UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA $11,192,369 · FY 2022
- DUKE UNIVERSITY $7,025,837 · FY 2022
- THE RAND CORPORATION $6,237,409 · FY 2023
- THE SPAULDING REHABILITATION HOSPITAL CORPORATION $5,991,655 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026
Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 491 | $451,000 | $167,702 – $811,948 |
| FY 2025 | 600 | $731,738 | $320,544 – $1,460,736 |
| FY 2024 | 883 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 898 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 986 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 945 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,803 — award counts are complete.
- MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
- OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
- ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
- DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025
- ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $12,007,972 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026
Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 100 | $308,491 | $157,932 – $601,291 |
| FY 2025 | 175 | $440,566 | $194,934 – $1,114,948 |
| FY 2024 | 237 | $420,927 | $153,632 – $1,110,810 |
| FY 2023 | 327 | $619,032 | $350,328 – $1,806,361 |
| FY 2022 | 314 | $897,120 | $369,477 – $2,547,224 |
| FY 2021 | 274 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,427 — award counts are complete.
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $36,249,682 · FY 2022
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,079,530 · FY 2022
- BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $6,335,676 · FY 2023
- VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $5,361,769 · FY 2024
- LOHOCLA RESEARCH CORP $5,128,513 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026
Assistance listing 93.279 · Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.279), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 428 | $422,523 | $183,034 – $700,682 |
| FY 2025 | 588 | $709,054 | $348,214 – $1,489,059 |
| FY 2024 | 714 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 724 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 740 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 606 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,800 — award counts are complete.
- FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY $7,372,834 · FY 2025
- BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER, INC. $7,081,684 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $7,003,822 · FY 2025
- REACX PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. $6,900,000 · FY 2025
- WORCESTER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE $6,889,914 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.286 · Discovery and Applied Research for Technological Innovations to Improve Human Health
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.286), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 127 | $276,000 | $117,190 – $583,962 |
| FY 2025 | 240 | $555,997 | $296,281 – $1,161,259 |
| FY 2024 | 231 | $589,216 | $349,987 – $1,434,349 |
| FY 2023 | 252 | $652,889 | $409,140 – $1,745,975 |
| FY 2022 | 303 | $691,306 | $420,665 – $2,168,108 |
| FY 2021 | 285 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,438 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS $6,543,053 · FY 2022
- ALLEN INSTITUTE $6,281,935 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,888,124 · FY 2024
- WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY, THE $4,858,373 · FY 2024
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, THE $4,329,771 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 654 | $405,461 | $120,825 – $587,738 |
| FY 2025 | 923 | $491,085 | $157,949 – $1,077,840 |
| FY 2024 | 1,031 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,194 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,228 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,132 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
- YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
- MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 386 | $392,826 | $79,188 – $593,582 |
| FY 2025 | 665 | $452,972 | $178,000 – $1,225,547 |
| FY 2024 | 785 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 835 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 799 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 764 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.
- PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,635,347 · FY 2025
- GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
- RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 795 | $493,972 | $248,999 – $713,195 |
| FY 2025 | 1,033 | $643,089 | $467,538 – $1,733,010 |
| FY 2024 | 1,560 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,539 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,715 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,595 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
- SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
- TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.867 · Vision Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.867), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 189 | $440,263 | $132,837 – $633,742 |
| FY 2025 | 309 | $464,903 | $260,661 – $1,026,742 |
| FY 2024 | 408 | $630,967 | $342,920 – $1,431,708 |
| FY 2023 | 401 | $771,099 | $422,359 – $1,867,311 |
| FY 2022 | 391 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 394 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,092 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $8,283,963 · FY 2024
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,256,090 · FY 2023
- OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $4,539,043 · FY 2025
- ALLEN INSTITUTE $4,260,011 · FY 2025
- THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,026,010 · FY 2024
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026