Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-194 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Limited Competition: Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA) Predoctoral Research Training Grant for the Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) Program (T32 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 28, 2027
Posted
Dec 19, 2024
Last verified
7 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This grant supports predoctoral research training for the CTSA program to prepare trainees for clinical and translational science careers. Only the primary CTSA UM1 hub organization can apply, and foreign organizations and partner or collaborator institutions are not eligible. Applications that propose clinical trials are not allowed, although trainees may gain experience in a clinical trial led by a mentor or co-mentor. Application budgets are not limited, but awards are capped at 4, 6, 8, or 10 trainee slots per budget period depending on hub tier, with no cost sharing allowed to increase slots. Indirect costs are limited to 8% of modified total direct costs, and the project period may be up to 5 years.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Health Care Delivery, Access & Workforce
  • STEM Education & Research Training
Official description from grants.gov

The National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) will award Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA) Predoctoral Institutional Research Training Grants for the Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) Program (T32) to eligibleinstitutions to create, provide, and disseminate clinical and translational science training and career support programs for individuals seeking a PhD or an equivalent research health professional degree and help ensure a heterogenous pool of clinical and translational scientist trainees who are equipped with the knowledge, skills and abilities (KSAs) to advance diagnostics, therapeutics, clinical interventions, and behavioral modifications aimed at improving health and support meaningful translational science research projects that address demonstrable needs among stakeholder communities.

Who can apply

  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.350 · National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.350), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 106 $427,386 $166,500 – $755,137
FY 2025 110 $427,602 $178,000 – $1,833,042
FY 2024 137 $463,150 $176,720 – $2,139,478
FY 2023 131 $363,189 $155,500 – $3,024,000
FY 2022 106 $438,741 $156,117 – $1,906,971
FY 2021 76 $324,197 $28,713 – $1,276,814
Who wins it Higher education (344), Business (161), Nonprofit (137) of 666 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (74) · NY (48) · NC (38) · MA (36) · PA (28)
Largest recent awards
  1. ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $46,369,962 · FY 2022
  2. TRUSTEES OF TUFTS COLLEGE $44,451,810 · FY 2023
  3. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $43,319,327 · FY 2023
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $39,816,036 · FY 2023
  5. THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER $39,349,638 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026