Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-070 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Mechanisms that Impact Cancer Risk with Use of Incretin Mimetics (R21 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 7, 2027
Posted
Nov 18, 2024
Last verified
7 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds investigator-initiated pilot or exploratory studies on how incretin mimetics, especially GLP-1 or dual GLP-1/GIP-1 receptor agonists, may affect cancer risk. It allows new and resubmission applications from a wide range of U.S. and non-U.S. organizations, including nonprofits, universities, governments, small businesses, and foreign organizations. The budget is limited to $275,000 in direct costs over up to 2 years, with no more than $200,000 in any single year, and no cost sharing is required. Clinical trials are not allowed, and animal studies must include a cancer endpoint while human studies may use cancer biomarker endpoints linked to cancer development.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Education
  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

The goal of the proposed funding announcement is twofold, to promote preclinical and patient based studies examining the mechanism(s) through which incretin mimetics (including agonists or antagonists of GLP-1, GIP-1, or dual GLP-1/GIP-1 agents) impact cancer risk, and to draw talented scientists who understand the dynamic changes caused by these agents to investigate the mechanisms of how these agents influence cancer risk rather than shorter term outcomes such as weight loss and diabetes. The data thus far suggests that these agents may increase the risk of some, while decreasing the risk of other obesity related cancers.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.393 · Cancer Cause and Prevention Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.393), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 167 $596,996 $422,899 – $685,984
FY 2025 233 $743,438 $397,772 – $1,287,560
FY 2024 331 $1,232,605 $403,858 – $1,928,145
FY 2023 333 $1,580,141 $399,888 – $2,324,497
FY 2022 371
FY 2021 317

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,752 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,176), Nonprofit (458), Business (49) of 1,752 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (124) · CA (100) · MA (89) · TX (82) · NC (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. HEALTH RESEARCH, INC. $8,975,418 · FY 2023
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $7,529,016 · FY 2024
  3. WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES $7,411,948 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER $7,120,874 · FY 2023
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $6,827,635 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026