Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-188 · National Institutes of Health

Open

NIDCR Behavioral and Social Intervention Clinical Trial Planning and Implementation Cooperative Agreement (UG3/UH3 Clinical Trial Required)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Cooperative Agreement: A financial assistance mechanism used when there will be substantial Federal scientific or programmatic involvement.” — From the announcement
Award range
Up to $500,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 6, 2028
Posted
Dec 2, 2024
Last verified
8 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program supports planning and then implementation of behavioral and biopsychosocial clinical trials related to dental, oral, and craniofacial health and related medical or mental health conditions. Eligible applicants include a wide range of U.S. organizations such as nonprofits, universities, governments, tribal entities, small businesses, and foreign organizations are not eligible to apply, though foreign components of U.S. organizations are allowed. The UG3 phase may support up to 1 year of planning, and the UH3 phase may support up to 5 years to conduct the trial; the number of awards is not stated and budgets are not limited, but applications asking for $500,000 or more in direct costs in any year must follow NIDCR policy. No cost sharing is required. The notice requires at least one NIH-defined clinical trial in the UH3 phase and does not support drugs, devices, or biologics regulated by the FDA.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) is to encourage UG3/UH3 phased cooperative agreement research applications to plan and implement behavioral and social intervention clinical trials. Studies appropriate for this announcement include clinical trials to develop and test behavior change interventions related to dental, oral, or craniofacial conditions. Awards made under this FOA will initially support a milestone-driven planning phase (UG3) for up to 2 years, with possible transition to a clinical trial implementation phase (UH3) of up to five years. Only UG3 projects that have met the scientific milestones and feasibility requirements may transition to the UH3 phase. The UG3/UH3 application must be submitted as a single application, following the instructions described in this FOA. The UG3 phase will permit both scientific and operational planning activities. Scientific planning activities include small-scale data collection to assess the feasibility and/or acceptability of a planned behavioral or social intervention and associated study procedures (e.g., acceptability of study content or mode of delivery; feasibility of proposed data collection procedures; preliminary testing of intervention training and fidelity monitoring procedures). Operational planning activities include, at a minimum, development of: the final clinical protocol; the intervention manual or equivalent; the data management system and other tools for data and quality management, safety and operational oversight plans; recruitment and retention strategies; and other essential documents. The UH3 phase will support the conduct of investigator-initiated intervention research at all stages, from early mechanistic research and intervention development (e.g., Stages 0/ I) through implementation and cost-effectiveness research (Stages IV/V).

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.121 · Oral Diseases and Disorders Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.121), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 155 $429,000 $306,500 – $571,863
FY 2025 277 $429,000 $310,295 – $829,259
FY 2024 301 $491,193 $310,985 – $1,283,003
FY 2023 320 $444,000 $298,673 – $1,756,575
FY 2022 295
FY 2021 305

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,653 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,224), Nonprofit (242), Business (71) of 1,653 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (124) · PA (83) · MA (82) · NY (70) · TX (35)
Largest recent awards
  1. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $6,128,166 · FY 2023
  2. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,961,133 · FY 2023
  3. RESEARCH FOUNDATION OF THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK $4,002,156 · FY 2023
  4. DANA-FARBER CANCER INSTITUTE, INC. $3,742,682 · FY 2025
  5. TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $3,736,064 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026