Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-24-272 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Clinical and Translational Science Award (UM1 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Cooperative Agreement: A financial assistance mechanism used when there will be substantial Federal scientific or programmatic involvement.” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 28, 2027
Posted
Sep 3, 2024
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) hubs that are part of a national consortium to improve clinical and translational research, training, partnerships, data and research processes, and rapid response to public health needs. Eligible applicants are medical research institutions or academic health centers that will serve as CTSA hubs, with partnering and collaborating institutions involved as described in the announcement. The notice does not state the award size or number of awards in the text provided. No cost share is required. No geographic restriction is stated in the text provided.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Capacity Building & Technical Assistance
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • General Public / Community-wide
  • Low-Income & Underserved Communities
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Health Care Delivery, Access & Workforce
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

This Notice of Funding Opportunity announcement (NOFO) invites applications for the Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) Program hubs that will be part of a national, collaborative consortium focused on bringing more treatments for all people more quickly through advancing clinical and translational science (CTS) by (1) developing, demonstrating, and disseminating scientific and operational innovations that improve the efficiency and effectiveness of clinical translation from identification to first-in-human studies to medical practice implementation to community health dissemination; (2) promoting partnerships and collaborations to facilitate and accelerate translational research projects locally, regionally, and nationally; (3) creating, providing, and disseminating innovative research programs and partnerships across institutions and communities to address health disparities and deliver the benefits of translational science to all; (4) creating and implementing scientific and operational innovations that increase the quality, safety, efficiency, effectiveness, and informativeness of clinical research; (5) providing a national resource for the rapid response to urgent public health needs; and (6) creating, providing, and disseminating CTS training for clinical research professionals of all disciplines on the research team.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.350 · National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.350), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 106 $427,386 $166,500 – $755,137
FY 2025 110 $427,602 $178,000 – $1,833,042
FY 2024 137 $463,150 $176,720 – $2,139,478
FY 2023 131 $363,189 $155,500 – $3,024,000
FY 2022 106 $438,741 $156,117 – $1,906,971
FY 2021 76 $324,197 $28,713 – $1,276,814
Who wins it Higher education (344), Business (161), Nonprofit (137) of 666 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (74) · NY (48) · NC (38) · MA (36) · PA (28)
Largest recent awards
  1. ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $46,369,962 · FY 2022
  2. TRUSTEES OF TUFTS COLLEGE $44,451,810 · FY 2023
  3. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $43,319,327 · FY 2023
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $39,816,036 · FY 2023
  5. THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER $39,349,638 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026