Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-025 · National Institutes of Health

Open

NHLBI Early Phase Clinical Trials for Therapeutics and/or Diagnostics for HLBS Disorders (R33 CT Required)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Up to $1,515,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 7, 2027
Posted
Dec 5, 2024
Last verified
7 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This funding opportunity supports Phase I investigator-initiated single-site or multi-site clinical trials for diagnostic and/or therapeutic interventions for heart, lung, blood, and sleep disorders in adults and children. It is limited to clinical trials, including bridging studies, and does not accept Phase II or III trials, observational studies that are not clinical trials, mechanistic human studies, or animal studies. Applicants may be nonprofits, universities, governments, small businesses, for-profit organizations, faith-based or community-based organizations, and some other U.S. or foreign-related organizations, but non-domestic foreign organizations are not eligible to apply. Application budgets should not exceed $1,515,000 in direct costs per year, the project period can be up to 3 years, and no cost sharing is required. The number of awards depends on NIH appropriations and the number of meritorious applications.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

The objective of this funding opportunity is to support investigator-initiated, phase I clinical trials for diagnostic and therapeutic interventions for heart, lung, blood, and sleep (HLBS) disorders in adults and children. The proposed trial can be single or multisite. Applicants applying for funding under this NOFO should be ready to initiate the clinical trial within the first quarter of the project period. Discussion, submission, and attainment of applicable regulatory (FDA, DSMB, IRB) approvals, and establishment of drug (and placebo, if applicable) supplies, and any necessary third-party agreements should be established by the time of award. If time and support for these and other pre-clinical and/or trial readiness activities are desired, applicants should consider the companion NOFO which utilizes an R61/R33 phased approach.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.233 · National Center on Sleep Disorders Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.233), not just this notice.

No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026

Assistance listing 93.837 · Cardiovascular Diseases Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.837), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 910 $406,108 $121,423 – $769,962
FY 2025 1,358 $638,002 $257,444 – $1,262,955
FY 2024 1,513
FY 2023 1,478
FY 2022 1,536
FY 2021 1,389

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $1,515,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,184 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,706), Nonprofit (1,550), Business (596) of 8,184 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (135) · MA (108) · NY (78) · PA (65) · OH (43)
Largest recent awards
  1. CHILDRENS HOSPITAL MEDICAL CENTER $6,452,040 · FY 2026
  2. KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS $3,918,561 · FY 2025
  3. ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $3,605,083 · FY 2026
  4. UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH - OF THE COMMONWEALTH SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION $3,229,552 · FY 2026
  5. NORTHERN CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATION, INC. $3,002,716 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026

Assistance listing 93.838 · Lung Diseases Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.838), not just this notice.

No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.839 · Blood Diseases and Resources Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.839), not just this notice.

No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026