No. RFA-MH-26-140 · National Institutes of Health
BRAIN Initiative: Brain Behavior Quantification and Synchronization- Next Generation Sensor Technology Development (U01 Clinical Trial Optional)
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Jun 15, 2027
- Posted
- Oct 23, 2024
- Last verified
- 8 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis program funds the development of new sensor technologies and bioelectronic devices to measure and synchronize behavior-related data with brain recordings. Eligible applicants include higher education institutions, nonprofits, for-profit organizations, small businesses, governments, tribal governments, federal entities, foreign organizations, and faith-based or community-based organizations. NIH expects to fund 6 to 8 awards for each receipt date, with about $10 million total committed, and application budgets are not limited but must fit the project. No cost sharing is required, the project period can be up to 5 years, and foreign organizations and foreign components of U.S. organizations are allowed.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
This NOFO solicits applications for next generation sensor and bioelectronic device development that will synchronize with brain recordings. The sensor and neural recording data will be used to generate new computational models of behavior in human and animal models. There has been a lack of quantitative approaches and models to understand the complexity of human and animal behavior in naturalistic settings. This NOFO focuses on the development of next generation sensors to acquire data and synchronize it with simultaneous brain recordings to build computational models.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.173 · Research Related to Deafness and Communication Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.173), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 170 | $416,419 | $134,042 – $648,731 |
| FY 2025 | 238 | $418,797 | $187,647 – $1,008,401 |
| FY 2024 | 283 | $464,268 | $152,978 – $1,268,772 |
| FY 2023 | 260 | $689,002 | $272,758 – $1,868,608 |
| FY 2022 | 286 | $570,000 | $145,264 – $2,113,099 |
| FY 2021 | 246 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,483 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $4,621,171 · FY 2022
- UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR MEDICAL SCIENCES $4,589,310 · FY 2023
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $4,474,844 · FY 2022
- OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $3,863,432 · FY 2022
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $3,579,023 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026
Assistance listing 93.213 · Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.213), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 58 | $441,813 | $190,230 – $676,906 |
| FY 2025 | 51 | $472,500 | $321,065 – $1,329,943 |
| FY 2024 | 100 | $562,397 | $286,558 – $1,285,052 |
| FY 2023 | 92 | $695,557 | $380,313 – $1,709,004 |
| FY 2022 | 94 | $715,153 | $419,983 – $1,985,928 |
| FY 2021 | 92 | $1,686,420 | $625,217 – $3,082,386 |
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $21,646,919 · FY 2022
- UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA $11,192,369 · FY 2022
- DUKE UNIVERSITY $7,025,837 · FY 2022
- THE RAND CORPORATION $6,237,409 · FY 2023
- THE SPAULDING REHABILITATION HOSPITAL CORPORATION $5,991,655 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026
Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 491 | $451,000 | $167,702 – $811,948 |
| FY 2025 | 600 | $731,738 | $320,544 – $1,460,736 |
| FY 2024 | 883 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 898 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 986 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 945 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,803 — award counts are complete.
- MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
- OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
- ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
- DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025
- ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $12,007,972 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026
Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 100 | $308,491 | $157,932 – $601,291 |
| FY 2025 | 175 | $440,566 | $194,934 – $1,114,948 |
| FY 2024 | 237 | $420,927 | $153,632 – $1,110,810 |
| FY 2023 | 327 | $619,032 | $350,328 – $1,806,361 |
| FY 2022 | 314 | $897,120 | $369,477 – $2,547,224 |
| FY 2021 | 274 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,427 — award counts are complete.
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $36,249,682 · FY 2022
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,079,530 · FY 2022
- BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $6,335,676 · FY 2023
- VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $5,361,769 · FY 2024
- LOHOCLA RESEARCH CORP $5,128,513 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026
Assistance listing 93.286 · Discovery and Applied Research for Technological Innovations to Improve Human Health
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.286), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 127 | $276,000 | $117,190 – $583,962 |
| FY 2025 | 240 | $555,997 | $296,281 – $1,161,259 |
| FY 2024 | 231 | $589,216 | $349,987 – $1,434,349 |
| FY 2023 | 252 | $652,889 | $409,140 – $1,745,975 |
| FY 2022 | 303 | $691,306 | $420,665 – $2,168,108 |
| FY 2021 | 285 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,438 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS $6,543,053 · FY 2022
- ALLEN INSTITUTE $6,281,935 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,888,124 · FY 2024
- WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY, THE $4,858,373 · FY 2024
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, THE $4,329,771 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 654 | $405,461 | $120,825 – $587,738 |
| FY 2025 | 923 | $491,085 | $157,949 – $1,077,840 |
| FY 2024 | 1,031 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,194 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,228 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,132 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
- YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
- MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 386 | $392,826 | $79,188 – $593,582 |
| FY 2025 | 665 | $452,972 | $178,000 – $1,225,547 |
| FY 2024 | 785 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 835 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 799 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 764 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.
- PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,635,347 · FY 2025
- GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
- RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 795 | $493,972 | $248,999 – $713,195 |
| FY 2025 | 1,033 | $643,089 | $467,538 – $1,733,010 |
| FY 2024 | 1,560 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,539 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,715 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,595 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
- SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
- TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.867 · Vision Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.867), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 189 | $440,263 | $132,837 – $633,742 |
| FY 2025 | 309 | $464,903 | $260,661 – $1,026,742 |
| FY 2024 | 408 | $630,967 | $342,920 – $1,431,708 |
| FY 2023 | 401 | $771,099 | $422,359 – $1,867,311 |
| FY 2022 | 391 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 394 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,092 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $8,283,963 · FY 2024
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,256,090 · FY 2023
- OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $4,539,043 · FY 2025
- ALLEN INSTITUTE $4,260,011 · FY 2025
- THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,026,010 · FY 2024
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026