No. RFA-NS-25-021 · National Institutes of Health
BRAIN Initiative: Next-Generation Devices for Recording and Modulation in the Human Central Nervous System (UG3/UH3 Clinical Trial Optional)
Not reimbursement-only
“Cooperative Agreement: A financial assistance mechanism used when there will be substantial Federal scientific or programmatic involvement.” — From the announcement
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Sep 28, 2026 26 days left
- Posted
- Nov 5, 2024
- Last verified
- 6 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis program funds milestone-driven regulatory work and a small early clinical study for next-generation recording and/or stimulating devices for central nervous system disorders and human brain research. Applicants may be institutions or businesses, including companies and researchers with existing collaborations, and projects must focus on a single CNS condition within the mission of a participating BRAIN Initiative institute. Each project has a one-year UG3 phase and a UH3 phase of one to four years, with a total project period of no more than five years. The notice does not state the award size or number of awards, and it does not mention cost-share requirements. Applications proposing only non-significant-risk studies, animal studies, basic research, healthy-person augmentation, or technologies for non-CNS uses are not responsive.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The purpose of this announcement is to encourage investigators to pursue translational activities and small clinical studies to advance the development of therapeutic, and diagnostic devices for disorders that affect the nervous or neuromuscular systems. Activities supported in this program include implementation of clinical prototype devices, non-clinical safety and efficacy testing, design verification and validation activities, obtaining an Investigational Device Exemption (IDE) for a Significant Risk (SR) study, as well as a subsequent small clinical study. The clinical study is expected to provide information about the device function or final design that cannot be practically obtained through additional non-clinical assessments (e.g., bench top or animal studies) due to the novelty of the device or its intended use. This FOA is a milestone-driven cooperative agreement program and will involve participation of NIH program staff in negotiating the final project plan before award and monitoring of research progress.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.173 · Research Related to Deafness and Communication Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.173), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 170 | $416,419 | $134,042 – $648,731 |
| FY 2025 | 238 | $418,797 | $187,647 – $1,008,401 |
| FY 2024 | 283 | $464,268 | $152,978 – $1,268,772 |
| FY 2023 | 260 | $689,002 | $272,758 – $1,868,608 |
| FY 2022 | 286 | $570,000 | $145,264 – $2,113,099 |
| FY 2021 | 246 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,483 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $4,621,171 · FY 2022
- UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR MEDICAL SCIENCES $4,589,310 · FY 2023
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $4,474,844 · FY 2022
- OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $3,863,432 · FY 2022
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $3,579,023 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026
Assistance listing 93.213 · Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.213), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 58 | $441,813 | $190,230 – $676,906 |
| FY 2025 | 51 | $472,500 | $321,065 – $1,329,943 |
| FY 2024 | 100 | $562,397 | $286,558 – $1,285,052 |
| FY 2023 | 92 | $695,557 | $380,313 – $1,709,004 |
| FY 2022 | 94 | $715,153 | $419,983 – $1,985,928 |
| FY 2021 | 92 | $1,686,420 | $625,217 – $3,082,386 |
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $21,646,919 · FY 2022
- UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA $11,192,369 · FY 2022
- DUKE UNIVERSITY $7,025,837 · FY 2022
- THE RAND CORPORATION $6,237,409 · FY 2023
- THE SPAULDING REHABILITATION HOSPITAL CORPORATION $5,991,655 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026
Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 491 | $451,000 | $167,702 – $811,948 |
| FY 2025 | 600 | $731,738 | $320,544 – $1,460,736 |
| FY 2024 | 883 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 898 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 986 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 945 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,803 — award counts are complete.
- MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
- OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
- ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
- DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025
- ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $12,007,972 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026
Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 100 | $308,491 | $157,932 – $601,291 |
| FY 2025 | 175 | $440,566 | $194,934 – $1,114,948 |
| FY 2024 | 237 | $420,927 | $153,632 – $1,110,810 |
| FY 2023 | 327 | $619,032 | $350,328 – $1,806,361 |
| FY 2022 | 314 | $897,120 | $369,477 – $2,547,224 |
| FY 2021 | 274 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,427 — award counts are complete.
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $36,249,682 · FY 2022
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,079,530 · FY 2022
- BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $6,335,676 · FY 2023
- VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $5,361,769 · FY 2024
- LOHOCLA RESEARCH CORP $5,128,513 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026
Assistance listing 93.279 · Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.279), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 428 | $422,523 | $183,034 – $700,682 |
| FY 2025 | 588 | $709,054 | $348,214 – $1,489,059 |
| FY 2024 | 714 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 724 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 740 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 606 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,800 — award counts are complete.
- FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY $7,372,834 · FY 2025
- BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER, INC. $7,081,684 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $7,003,822 · FY 2025
- REACX PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. $6,900,000 · FY 2025
- WORCESTER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE $6,889,914 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.286 · Discovery and Applied Research for Technological Innovations to Improve Human Health
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.286), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 127 | $276,000 | $117,190 – $583,962 |
| FY 2025 | 240 | $555,997 | $296,281 – $1,161,259 |
| FY 2024 | 231 | $589,216 | $349,987 – $1,434,349 |
| FY 2023 | 252 | $652,889 | $409,140 – $1,745,975 |
| FY 2022 | 303 | $691,306 | $420,665 – $2,168,108 |
| FY 2021 | 285 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,438 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS $6,543,053 · FY 2022
- ALLEN INSTITUTE $6,281,935 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,888,124 · FY 2024
- WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY, THE $4,858,373 · FY 2024
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, THE $4,329,771 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 654 | $405,461 | $120,825 – $587,738 |
| FY 2025 | 923 | $491,085 | $157,949 – $1,077,840 |
| FY 2024 | 1,031 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,194 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,228 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,132 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
- YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
- MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 386 | $392,826 | $79,188 – $593,582 |
| FY 2025 | 665 | $452,972 | $178,000 – $1,225,547 |
| FY 2024 | 785 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 835 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 799 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 764 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.
- PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,635,347 · FY 2025
- GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
- RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 795 | $493,972 | $248,999 – $713,195 |
| FY 2025 | 1,033 | $643,089 | $467,538 – $1,733,010 |
| FY 2024 | 1,560 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,539 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,715 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,595 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
- SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
- TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.867 · Vision Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.867), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 189 | $440,263 | $132,837 – $633,742 |
| FY 2025 | 309 | $464,903 | $260,661 – $1,026,742 |
| FY 2024 | 408 | $630,967 | $342,920 – $1,431,708 |
| FY 2023 | 401 | $771,099 | $422,359 – $1,867,311 |
| FY 2022 | 391 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 394 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,092 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $8,283,963 · FY 2024
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,256,090 · FY 2023
- OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $4,539,043 · FY 2025
- ALLEN INSTITUTE $4,260,011 · FY 2025
- THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,026,010 · FY 2024
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026