Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-081 · National Institutes of Health

Open

National Cancer Institute's Investigator-Initiated Early Phase Clinical Trials for Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis (R01 Clinical Trial Required)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Up to $499,999
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 7, 2027
Posted
Nov 12, 2024
Last verified
8 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds investigator-initiated early phase cancer clinical trials, including Phase 0, I, and II studies of diagnosis and treatment interventions. It is for R01 applications and accepts only clinical trials; phase III trials, observational studies, and studies that do not meet the NIH clinical trial definition are not responsive. Eligible applicants include U.S. and foreign organizations, nonprofits, universities, governments, small businesses, and other listed entity types, and foreign components are allowed. Application budgets are limited to no more than $499,999 in direct costs per year, the project period can be up to 5 years, and no cost sharing is required. There is no stated geographic restriction, but the trials must be relevant to NCI’s Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis and/or the Office of HIV and AIDS Malignancies.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Education
  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

Through this Notice of Funding Opportunity, the National Cancer Institute (NCI) seeks research projects that implement early phase (Phase 0, I, and II) investigator-initiated clinical trials focused on cancer-targeted diagnostic and therapeutic interventions of direct relevance to the research mission of DCTD and OHAM. The proposed project must involve at least 1 clinical trial related to the scientific interests of one or more of the following research programs: Cancer Therapy Evaluation Program, Cancer Imaging Program, Cancer Diagnosis Program, Radiation Research Program, Complementary and Alternative Medicine Program and/or the HIV and AIDS Malignancies Research Programs. Applicants may propose to conduct an early phase trial by itself, or in combination with another research aim(s) as appropriate.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.393 · Cancer Cause and Prevention Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.393), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 167 $596,996 $422,899 – $685,984
FY 2025 233 $743,438 $397,772 – $1,287,560
FY 2024 331 $1,232,605 $403,858 – $1,928,145
FY 2023 333 $1,580,141 $399,888 – $2,324,497
FY 2022 371
FY 2021 317

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $499,999.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,752 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,176), Nonprofit (458), Business (49) of 1,752 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (124) · CA (100) · MA (89) · TX (82) · NC (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. HEALTH RESEARCH, INC. $8,975,418 · FY 2023
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $7,529,016 · FY 2024
  3. WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES $7,411,948 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER $7,120,874 · FY 2023
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $6,827,635 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026

Assistance listing 93.394 · Cancer Detection and Diagnosis Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.394), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 137 $595,012 $414,585 – $662,610
FY 2025 184 $726,875 $399,923 – $1,297,708
FY 2024 215 $1,129,641 $414,953 – $1,862,878
FY 2023 268 $1,754,736 $438,924 – $2,398,100
FY 2022 277 $2,036,627 $596,368 – $3,077,027
FY 2021 269

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $499,999.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,350 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (836), Nonprofit (284), Business (196) of 1,350 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (184) · NY (79) · MA (78) · TX (66) · PA (26)
Largest recent awards
  1. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $8,347,015 · FY 2022
  2. BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $6,630,183 · FY 2022
  3. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $6,618,085 · FY 2022
  4. SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,181,895 · FY 2022
  5. OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $5,771,926 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026

Assistance listing 93.395 · Cancer Treatment Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.395), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 316 $565,152 $413,691 – $664,926
FY 2025 435 $677,787 $402,400 – $1,233,798
FY 2024 488 $1,140,586 $408,966 – $1,897,871
FY 2023 522
FY 2022 519
FY 2021 517

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $499,999.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,797 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,714), Nonprofit (603), Business (391) of 2,797 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (132) · NY (107) · TX (87) · MA (66) · PA (59)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER $6,902,371 · FY 2024
  2. VIRGINIA COMMONWEALTH UNIVERSITY $5,325,147 · FY 2024
  3. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,597,865 · FY 2024
  4. PRIVO TECHNOLOGIES, INC. $4,499,992 · FY 2024
  5. FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $4,234,248 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.399 · Cancer Control

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.399), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 1 $2,490,206 $2,490,206 – $2,490,206
FY 2024 13 $3,165,783 $804,361 – $3,227,950
FY 2023 7 $1,121,797 $947,583 – $1,353,065
FY 2022 14 $4,573,965 $2,523,875 – $6,154,995
FY 2021 5 $3,186,801 $2,957,140 – $3,199,301

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $499,999.

Who wins it Higher education (28), Nonprofit (8) of 40 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (5) · WA (5) · MI (3) · NY (3) · GA (2)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE $16,730,455 · FY 2021
  2. VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE & STATE UNIVERSITY $8,183,001 · FY 2022
  3. FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $7,696,898 · FY 2022
  4. THE INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,471,989 · FY 2022
  5. WEILL MEDICAL COLLEGE OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY $4,655,326 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026