No. PAR-25-167 · National Institutes of Health
Cancer Prevention and Control Clinical Trials Grant Program (R01 Clinical Trial Required)
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Jan 7, 2027
- Posted
- Nov 12, 2024
- Last verified
- 7 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis grant program funds investigator-initiated clinical trials in cancer prevention and control that may improve early detection, screening, prevention, healthcare delivery, quality of life, or survivorship. It does not support trials for cancer diagnosis or cancer treatment, and Phase III support is limited to public health, healthcare delivery, and related psychosocial, behavioral, environmental, policy, health system, or implementation interventions. A wide range of organizations may apply, including nonprofits, schools, governments, for-profits, tribal organizations, faith-based and community-based organizations, and foreign organizations or foreign components of U.S. organizations. Awards are for up to 5 years, the number of awards is not set in advance, application budgets are not limited but must fit the project, and no cost sharing is required.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
Through this notice of funding opportunity (NOFO), the National Cancer Institute (NCI) invites applications for support of investigator-initiated clinical trials that have the potential to reduce the burden of cancer through improvements in early detection, screening, prevention and interception, healthcare delivery, quality of life, and/or survivorship related to cancer; with such attributes, the proposed studies should also have the potential to improve clinical practice and/or public health. Applications submitted to this NOFO must include studies that meet the National Institutes of Health (NIH) definition of a clinical trial (see NOT-OD-15-015 for details) and provide specific clinical trial information as described in this FOA. This NOFO does not and will not support clinical trials for studies of cancer diagnosis and/or oncologic therapy in patients. The proposed investigator-initiated projects should be related to the programmatic interests of the NCI Division of Cancer Prevention and/or the NCI Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.393 · Cancer Cause and Prevention Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.393), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 167 | $596,996 | $422,899 – $685,984 |
| FY 2025 | 233 | $743,438 | $397,772 – $1,287,560 |
| FY 2024 | 331 | $1,232,605 | $403,858 – $1,928,145 |
| FY 2023 | 333 | $1,580,141 | $399,888 – $2,324,497 |
| FY 2022 | 371 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 317 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,752 — award counts are complete.
- HEALTH RESEARCH, INC. $8,975,418 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $7,529,016 · FY 2024
- WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES $7,411,948 · FY 2023
- VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER $7,120,874 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $6,827,635 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026
Assistance listing 93.399 · Cancer Control
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.399), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2025 | 1 | $2,490,206 | $2,490,206 – $2,490,206 |
| FY 2024 | 13 | $3,165,783 | $804,361 – $3,227,950 |
| FY 2023 | 7 | $1,121,797 | $947,583 – $1,353,065 |
| FY 2022 | 14 | $4,573,965 | $2,523,875 – $6,154,995 |
| FY 2021 | 5 | $3,186,801 | $2,957,140 – $3,199,301 |
- UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE $16,730,455 · FY 2021
- VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE & STATE UNIVERSITY $8,183,001 · FY 2022
- FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $7,696,898 · FY 2022
- THE INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,471,989 · FY 2022
- WEILL MEDICAL COLLEGE OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY $4,655,326 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026