No. 26-513 · U.S. National Science Foundation
U.S. National Science Foundation State and Regional Artificial Intelligence Infrastructure Hubs:
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Nov 4, 2026
- Posted
- Aug 6, 2026
- Last verified
- Yesterday
At a glance
No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The NSF State and Regional AI Infrastructure Hubs program aims to expand access to the compute required for AI-enabled scientific discovery and to transform the research, education, and training opportunities offered by institutions of higher education. AI Infrastructure Hubs will connect researchers to new compute infrastructure that leverages contributions from state governments, research institutions, industry, and philanthropy, accelerating AI-enabled discovery across science and engineering and developing a skilled technical workforce for AI use in the scientific enterprise. The program responds to a core tenet of Science: A New Golden Age to renew America’s research and development (R&D) for changes in today’s scientific enterprise, including the role of AI in laying the foundation for a new era of scientific discovery and the growing role of industry and philanthropy in funding R&D. In response, the Administration’s FY28 R&D Priorities Memorandum called for investing in AI for science as a national mission and expanding the scale of, and flexible access to, advanced compute and data infrastructure that researchers now require for frontier scientific discovery. Each AI Infrastructure Hub will be organized as a flexible state or regional consortium of state and local governments, research institutions, philanthropies, and the private sector. Consortia will be responsible for all funding for new or expanded computing, data, and AI resources, whether on-premises or cloud-based. NSF will fund each Hub’s consortium coordination, AI infrastructure workforce development, and faculty training and coursework development in leveraging AI for science.
Who can apply
- Others
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 47.070 · Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.070), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 647 | $358,200 | $187,638 – $481,247 |
| FY 2025 | 1,559 | $320,881 | $200,061 – $597,771 |
| FY 2024 | 1,919 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 2,177 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 2,045 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,910 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,257 — award counts are complete.
- THE ALLEN INSTITUTE FOR ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE $18,113,645 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $11,000,000 · FY 2026
- CARNEGIE-MELLON UNIVERSITY $10,000,000 · FY 2026
- THE MORGRIDGE INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH, INC. $9,000,000 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $9,000,000 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026
Assistance listing 47.076 · STEM Education (formerly Education and Human Resources)
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.076), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 93 | $743,868 | $218,502 – $1,887,597 |
| FY 2025 | 803 | $475,000 | $242,507 – $1,000,000 |
| FY 2024 | 1,421 | $398,874 | $200,164 – $909,820 |
| FY 2023 | 1,303 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,344 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,191 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,155 — award counts are complete.
- GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $8,990,942 · FY 2025
- THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $8,000,000 · FY 2025
- CAL POLY POMONA FOUNDATION INC $7,500,000 · FY 2025
- FLORIDA A & M UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025
- MONTANA TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026
Assistance listing 47.084 · NSF Technology, Innovation, and Partnerships
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.084), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 199 | $304,926 | $50,000 – $1,149,405 |
| FY 2025 | 908 | $305,000 | $50,000 – $997,540 |
| FY 2024 | 1,040 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,102 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 623 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 268 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,140 — award counts are complete.
- ACTIVATE GLOBAL INC $14,978,985 · FY 2025
- OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026
- TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF ALASKA FAIRBANKS $7,500,000 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF CONNECTICUT $7,500,000 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026
Change history
Since we first indexed it- Aug 22, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced