Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. USDA-NIFA-CGP-011315 · National Institute of Food and Agriculture

Open

Higher Education Challenge Grants Program

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$150,000 – $750,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Oct 15, 2026
Posted
Aug 5, 2026
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Agriculture
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of HEC, under assistance listing 10.217, is to strengthen institutional capacities, including curriculum, faculty, scientific instrumentation, and student recruitment and retention. The HEC program is focused on developing and improving formal master’s or doctorate degree-level food and agricultural sciences education and first professional degree-level education in veterinary medicine, such as a doctorate in veterinary medicine (DVM).

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 10.217 · Higher Education - Institution Challenge Grants Program

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (10.217), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 1 $15,031 $15,031 – $15,031
FY 2025 0
FY 2024 31 $149,998 $146,707 – $509,878
FY 2023 24 $149,000 $126,809 – $299,913
FY 2022 2 $-117,652 $-168,791 – $-66,513
FY 2021 27 $149,855 $-77 – $267,107

For comparison, this notice advertises $150,000 – $750,000.

Who wins it Higher education (75), Nonprofit (5) of 85 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states TX (10) · CA (5) · GA (4) · AL (3) · MN (3)
Largest recent awards
  1. CAL POLY CORPORATION $750,000 · FY 2021
  2. PURDUE UNIVERSITY $750,000 · FY 2023
  3. RUTGERS, THE STATE UNIVERSITY $750,000 · FY 2021
  4. TEXAS STATE UNIVERSITY $750,000 · FY 2023
  5. THE UNIVERSITY CORPORATION $750,000 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026