Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. O-BJA-2025-172672 · Bureau of Justice Assistance

Open

BJA FY25 Forensic Ballistics and Higher Education Program

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$0 – $1,207,403
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 14, 2026 12 days left
Posted
Aug 5, 2026
Last verified
Today

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Law, Justice and Legal Services
Official description from grants.gov

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY 2025 Forensic Ballistics and Higher Education Program. This program enables public and state-controlled institutions of higher education to partner with local law enforcement and the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) to develop or build upon current specialized curricula that provide comprehensive forensic education in firearm ballistics and crime gun intelligence (CGI). Since foundational curricula in crime gun intelligence, National Integrated Ballistic Information Network (NIBIN) operations, and forensic ballistics have already been developed and piloted, this NOFO will support hands-on training for students to gain proficiency and competency in firearms evidence processing, ballistic analysis using NIBIN, CGI generation, and investigative methodologies that support criminal apprehension and conviction. The program will increase the pipeline of trained professionals entering the forensic science and law enforcement workforce while building sustainable partnerships between higher education and law enforcement agencies to combat violent gun crime. This funding opportunity will expand geographic reach and create replicable frameworks for national dissemination.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 16.051 · Crime Gun Intelligence Training and Education

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.051), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 0
FY 2024 0
FY 2023 0
FY 2022 1 $3,950,941 $3,950,941 – $3,950,941
FY 2021 0

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $1,207,403.

Who wins it Higher education (1) of 1 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states KS (1)
Largest recent awards
  1. WICHITA STATE UNIVERSITY $3,950,941 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026