Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-310 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Accelerating Solutions to Improve Access and Quality of Empirically-Supported Practices for Youth Mental Health (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required
No audit required
“This NOFO does not require cost sharing as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement Section 1.2 Definition of Terms .” — From the announcement
Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 7, 2027
Posted
Dec 3, 2024
Last verified
7 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This R01 program funds research to improve access to and quality of empirically supported mental health practices for youth from birth to age 25, especially for underserved groups and settings. It supports pilot-stage and full-scale studies, including clinical trials and non-trial designs, on interventions, implementation strategies, workforce support, service delivery, and decision tools. The announcement does not state the number or size of awards, cost-share requirements, or any geographic restrictions. It says applications should focus on youth mental health in routine practice or non-mental health settings such as schools, pediatric medicine, community organizations, social services, juvenile justice, online settings, and social media platforms.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Children, Youth & Families
  • Low-Income & Underserved Communities
  • Health Care Delivery, Access & Workforce
  • Housing, Homelessness & Community Development
  • Mental & Behavioral Health
Official description from grants.gov

This NOFO is a call to action in response to the mental health crisis in the United States. We seek applications that will study methods to increase access to evidence-based interventions and services for youth mental health, including those living in rural areas, inner cities, and other under-resourced areas, and youth experiencing housing and food insecurities and out-right homelessness. Applications should address research related to optimizing assessment, intervention and service strategies, overcoming challenges related to the workforce shortage, wait lists for treatment, integration of treatment and preventive interventions into settings where people are most likely to be best identified as needing care (eg: schools, social service, pediatric medicine and justice), and service interventions that address systemic barriers to access and quality of mental health care (structural, policy, organizational, value (cost/financing), management).

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 491 $451,000 $167,702 – $811,948
FY 2025 600 $731,738 $320,544 – $1,460,736
FY 2024 883
FY 2023 898
FY 2022 986
FY 2021 945

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,803 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,532), Nonprofit (816), Business (215) of 4,803 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (166) · NY (127) · MA (104) · PA (79) · IL (22)
Largest recent awards
  1. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
  2. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
  3. ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
  4. DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025
  5. ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $12,007,972 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026