Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PA-25-172 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Modular R01s in Cancer Control and Population Sciences (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 7, 2028
Posted
Nov 7, 2024
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Education
  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Health Care Delivery, Access & Workforce
  • Public Health, Prevention & Nutrition
Official description from grants.gov

This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) encourages applications for research in cancer control and population sciences. The overarching goal is to provide support to promote research efforts on novel scientific ideas that have the potential to substantially advance cancer research in statistical and analytic methods, epidemiology, cancer survivorship, cancer-related behaviors and behavioral interventions, healthcare delivery, and digital health and data science, and implementation science.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide
Set-aside Set aside or prioritized for: Faith-based organization; HBCU; HSI; Tribal college (TCU)
“Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs)” — From the announcement

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.393 · Cancer Cause and Prevention Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.393), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 167 $596,996 $422,899 – $685,984
FY 2025 233 $743,438 $397,772 – $1,287,560
FY 2024 331 $1,232,605 $403,858 – $1,928,145
FY 2023 333 $1,580,141 $399,888 – $2,324,497
FY 2022 371
FY 2021 317

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,752 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,176), Nonprofit (458), Business (49) of 1,752 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (124) · CA (100) · MA (89) · TX (82) · NC (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. HEALTH RESEARCH, INC. $8,975,418 · FY 2023
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $7,529,016 · FY 2024
  3. WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES $7,411,948 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER $7,120,874 · FY 2023
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $6,827,635 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026

Assistance listing 93.399 · Cancer Control

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.399), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 1 $2,490,206 $2,490,206 – $2,490,206
FY 2024 13 $3,165,783 $804,361 – $3,227,950
FY 2023 7 $1,121,797 $947,583 – $1,353,065
FY 2022 14 $4,573,965 $2,523,875 – $6,154,995
FY 2021 5 $3,186,801 $2,957,140 – $3,199,301
Who wins it Higher education (28), Nonprofit (8) of 40 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (5) · WA (5) · MI (3) · NY (3) · GA (2)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE $16,730,455 · FY 2021
  2. VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE & STATE UNIVERSITY $8,183,001 · FY 2022
  3. FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $7,696,898 · FY 2022
  4. THE INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,471,989 · FY 2022
  5. WEILL MEDICAL COLLEGE OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY $4,655,326 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026