Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-175 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Integration of Imaging and Fluid-Based Tumor Monitoring in Cancer Therapy (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Up to $500,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 7, 2028
Posted
Nov 6, 2024
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds integrated studies that combine imaging and liquid biopsy monitoring in cancer treatment to measure response, failure, recurrence, and resistance. Eligible applicants include a wide range of U.S. organizations, including nonprofits, schools, governments, small businesses, and for-profit organizations; foreign organizations and non-U.S. components of U.S. organizations are not eligible, though foreign components are allowed. Awards are for new or resubmission applications, with budgets limited to less than $500,000 in direct costs per year and project periods up to 5 years. No cost sharing is required.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Education
  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

Through this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO), the National Cancer Institute (NCI) seeks research project (R01) grant applications describing projects that integrate imaging and fluid-based tumor monitoring (liquid biopsy) assays during cancer therapy in patients to determine the optimal use of those modalities in the characterization of therapy response and/or emergence of resistance.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.393 · Cancer Cause and Prevention Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.393), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 167 $596,996 $422,899 – $685,984
FY 2025 233 $743,438 $397,772 – $1,287,560
FY 2024 331 $1,232,605 $403,858 – $1,928,145
FY 2023 333 $1,580,141 $399,888 – $2,324,497
FY 2022 371
FY 2021 317

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,752 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,176), Nonprofit (458), Business (49) of 1,752 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (124) · CA (100) · MA (89) · TX (82) · NC (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. HEALTH RESEARCH, INC. $8,975,418 · FY 2023
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $7,529,016 · FY 2024
  3. WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES $7,411,948 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER $7,120,874 · FY 2023
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $6,827,635 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026

Assistance listing 93.394 · Cancer Detection and Diagnosis Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.394), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 137 $595,012 $414,585 – $662,610
FY 2025 184 $726,875 $399,923 – $1,297,708
FY 2024 215 $1,129,641 $414,953 – $1,862,878
FY 2023 268 $1,754,736 $438,924 – $2,398,100
FY 2022 277 $2,036,627 $596,368 – $3,077,027
FY 2021 269

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,350 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (836), Nonprofit (284), Business (196) of 1,350 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (184) · NY (79) · MA (78) · TX (66) · PA (26)
Largest recent awards
  1. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $8,347,015 · FY 2022
  2. BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $6,630,183 · FY 2022
  3. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $6,618,085 · FY 2022
  4. SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,181,895 · FY 2022
  5. OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $5,771,926 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026

Assistance listing 93.395 · Cancer Treatment Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.395), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 316 $565,152 $413,691 – $664,926
FY 2025 435 $677,787 $402,400 – $1,233,798
FY 2024 488 $1,140,586 $408,966 – $1,897,871
FY 2023 522
FY 2022 519
FY 2021 517

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,797 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,714), Nonprofit (603), Business (391) of 2,797 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (132) · NY (107) · TX (87) · MA (66) · PA (59)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER $6,902,371 · FY 2024
  2. VIRGINIA COMMONWEALTH UNIVERSITY $5,325,147 · FY 2024
  3. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,597,865 · FY 2024
  4. PRIVO TECHNOLOGIES, INC. $4,499,992 · FY 2024
  5. FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $4,234,248 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026