Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PA-25-163 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Alcohol Treatment, Pharmacotherapy, and Recovery Research (R01 Clinical Trial Required)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Funding Instrument Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Up to $500,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 7, 2026 5 days left
Posted
Nov 27, 2024
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds human clinical trial research on alcohol use disorder treatment and recovery, including medications, behavioral therapies, recovery processes, translational research, digital methods, and studies focused on special-emphasis populations such as people with health disparities, psychiatric comorbidity, women, adolescents and young adults, and older adults. Eligible applicants include U.S. and non-U.S. organizations, including nonprofits, universities, for-profits, governments, tribal entities, faith-based and community-based organizations, and foreign organizations. The award is a grant, new and resubmission applications are allowed, direct costs may not exceed $500,000 without prior approval, the project period can be up to five years, and no cost sharing is required. Applications that focus on brief intervention dissemination, prevention, community settings, preclinical animal studies, polysubstance use, HIV/AIDS-related studies, organ-associated diseases, basic experimental studies involving humans, or nonclinical trials will not be considered responsive.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Substance Use & Addiction
Official description from grants.gov

The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism solicits applications for an R01 Clinical Trial Required mechanism focusing on alcohol treatment and recovery research. This NOFO will focus broadly on topics relevant for treatment of and recovery from alcohol use disorder (AUD), including: medications development, precision medicine, behavioral therapies and mechanisms of behavioral change (MOBC), recovery, translational research, and innovative methods and technologies for AUD treatment and recovery.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 100 $308,491 $157,932 – $601,291
FY 2025 175 $440,566 $194,934 – $1,114,948
FY 2024 237 $420,927 $153,632 – $1,110,810
FY 2023 327 $619,032 $350,328 – $1,806,361
FY 2022 314 $897,120 $369,477 – $2,547,224
FY 2021 274

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,427 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,103), Nonprofit (187), Business (75) of 1,427 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (118) · NC (58) · NY (57) · PA (41) · TX (40)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $36,249,682 · FY 2022
  2. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,079,530 · FY 2022
  3. BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $6,335,676 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $5,361,769 · FY 2024
  5. LOHOCLA RESEARCH CORP $5,128,513 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026