Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PA-25-245 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Alcohol Health Services Research (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Up to $500,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 7, 2026 5 days left
Posted
Nov 27, 2024
Last verified
Today

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds R01 grant applications on alcohol health services research aimed at closing the treatment gap for people with alcohol use disorder. It supports studies on improving access to treatment, making treatment more appealing, costs and insurance systems, dissemination and implementation of existing evidence-based approaches, and reducing health disparities; clinical trials are optional. Eligible applicants include a wide range of U.S. and non-U.S. organizations, including nonprofits, universities, governments, tribal entities, for-profits, small businesses, and foreign organizations. Direct costs may not exceed $500,000 without prior approval, the project period may be up to five years, and no cost sharing is required. Applications involving HIV/AIDS, substances other than alcohol or polysubstance use disorders, or economic analyses of prevention interventions are not responsive.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Low-Income & Underserved Communities
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Health Care Delivery, Access & Workforce
  • Public Health, Prevention & Nutrition
  • Substance Use & Addiction
Official description from grants.gov

The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism solicits applications for an R01 Clinical Trial Optional mechanism focusing on alcohol health services. This NOFO will broadly focus on closing the treatment gap for individuals with alcohol use disorder (AUD); within this focus, there are five major areas of emphasis: (1) increasing access to treatment for AUD, (2) making treatment for AUD more appealing, (3) examining cost structures and insurance systems, (4) conducting studies on dissemination and implementation of existing evidence-based approaches to treating AUD, and (5) reducing health disparities as a means of addressing the treatment gap in AUD for health disparity populations.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 100 $308,491 $157,932 – $601,291
FY 2025 175 $440,566 $194,934 – $1,114,948
FY 2024 237 $420,927 $153,632 – $1,110,810
FY 2023 327 $619,032 $350,328 – $1,806,361
FY 2022 314 $897,120 $369,477 – $2,547,224
FY 2021 274

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,427 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,103), Nonprofit (187), Business (75) of 1,427 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (118) · NC (58) · NY (57) · PA (41) · TX (40)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $36,249,682 · FY 2022
  2. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,079,530 · FY 2022
  3. BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $6,335,676 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $5,361,769 · FY 2024
  5. LOHOCLA RESEARCH CORP $5,128,513 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026