Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PA-25-125 · National Institutes of Health

Open

NICHD Small Research Grant Program (R03 Clinical Trial Required)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Up to $50,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 7, 2028
Posted
Nov 18, 2024
Last verified
3 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

The NICHD Small Research Grant Program funds small, short-term clinical trials that fit within NICHD’s mission, including pilot studies, feasibility studies, secondary analyses of existing data, and other small research projects. Eligible applicants include a wide range of organizations such as universities, nonprofits, for-profit organizations, governments, tribal governments, faith-based or community-based organizations, and foreign organizations. Application budgets are limited to $50,000 in direct costs per year, the project period can be up to two years, and the notice does not require cost sharing. The announcement does not list geographic restrictions, but it does allow foreign organizations, foreign components of U.S. organizations, and non-domestic components of U.S. organizations to apply.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Income Security and Social Services
  • Research & Discovery
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Maternal, Child & Reproductive Health
Official description from grants.gov

The NICHD Small Research Grant Program (Clinical Trial Required) supports clinical trials that fall within the NICHD mission.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 386 $392,826 $79,188 – $593,582
FY 2025 665 $452,972 $178,000 – $1,225,547
FY 2024 785
FY 2023 835
FY 2022 799
FY 2021 764

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $50,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,137), Nonprofit (693), Business (224) of 4,234 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (103) · MA (87) · PA (75) · NY (62) · MI (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,635,347 · FY 2025
  4. GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
  5. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026