No. PAR-25-105 · National Institutes of Health
NIDCR Small Grant Program for New Investigators (R03 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Jan 7, 2028
- Posted
- Nov 18, 2024
- Last verified
- Yesterday
At a glance
AI summaryThis program funds small pilot, feasibility, and developmental research projects in dental, oral, and craniofacial research to help new investigators build toward future R01 or R01-equivalent applications. Only New Investigators may apply, and applicants who have received NIH R21 or R56 awards or who have already received two NIDCR Small Grants (R03) are not eligible. Clinical trials and biomarker validation studies are not allowed, and foreign organizations and non-domestic components of U.S. organizations are not eligible to apply, though foreign components are allowed. Up to $200,000 in direct costs may be requested, with a limit of $100,000 in direct costs per year, for a project period of up to two years. No cost sharing is required.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
This NIDCR Small Grant Program for New Investigators supports basic and clinical research conducted by scientists who are in the early stages of establishing an independent research career in oral, dental and craniofacial research. This R03 program supports pilot or feasibility studies and developmental research projects with the intention of obtaining sufficient preliminary data for a subsequent investigator initiated Research Project Grant (R01) or equivalent application.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.121 · Oral Diseases and Disorders Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.121), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 155 | $429,000 | $306,500 – $571,863 |
| FY 2025 | 277 | $429,000 | $310,295 – $829,259 |
| FY 2024 | 301 | $491,193 | $310,985 – $1,283,003 |
| FY 2023 | 320 | $444,000 | $298,673 – $1,756,575 |
| FY 2022 | 295 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 305 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,653 — award counts are complete.
- TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $6,128,166 · FY 2023
- THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,961,133 · FY 2023
- RESEARCH FOUNDATION OF THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK $4,002,156 · FY 2023
- DANA-FARBER CANCER INSTITUTE, INC. $3,742,682 · FY 2025
- TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $3,736,064 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026