No. PAR-25-148 · National Institutes of Health
Academic Research Enhancement Award (AREA) for Undergraduate-Focused Institutions (R15 Clinical Trial Required)
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Jan 7, 2028
- Posted
- Nov 21, 2024
- Last verified
- Yesterday
At a glance
AI summaryNIH will fund small-scale biomedical research projects led by faculty at undergraduate-focused institutions, and the research must involve undergraduates as the majority of the student research team. The award is a grant for clinical trials only, and it allows new, renewal, resubmission, and revision applications. Applicants may request up to $375,000 in direct costs, excluding consortium F&A, for a project period of up to 3 years; the number of awards depends on NIH appropriations and meritorious applications. Eligible applicants are accredited public or private nonprofit schools that grant baccalaureate degrees in biomedical sciences, have less than $6 million a year in NIH funding in 4 of the last 7 years, and are not health professional schools or colleges. Foreign organizations, non-U.S. components of U.S. organizations, and applications with foreign subawards or subcontracts are not eligible.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The purpose of this Academic Research Enhancement Award (AREA) for Undergraduate-Focused Institutions is to support small scale research grants at institutions that do not receive substantial funding from the NIH, with an emphasis on providing biomedical research experiences primarily for undergraduate students and enhancing the research environment at applicant institutions. Eligible institutions must award baccalaureate science degrees and have received no more than $6 million dollars per year of NIH support (in both direct and F and A/indirect costs) in 4 of the last 7 fiscal years. For institutions composed of multiple schools and colleges, the $6 million funding limit is based on the amount of NIH funding received by all the non-health professional schools and colleges within the institution as a whole. This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) supports investigator-initiated mechanistic and/or minimal risk clinical trials addressing the mission and research interests of the participating NIH institutes. For the purpose of this NOFO, minimal risk clinical trials are defined as those that do not require FDA oversight, do not intend to formally establish efficacy, and have low risks to potentially cause physical or psychological harm.
Who can apply
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.172 · Human Genome Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.172), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 59 | $719,909 | $248,971 – $2,040,991 |
| FY 2025 | 100 | $491,802 | $283,764 – $1,360,276 |
| FY 2024 | 180 | $737,013 | $395,019 – $1,360,662 |
| FY 2023 | 179 | $766,801 | $392,035 – $2,341,997 |
| FY 2022 | 175 | $894,953 | $401,519 – $2,830,080 |
| FY 2021 | 215 | $1,999,233 | $431,511 – $5,047,468 |
- BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $26,395,336 · FY 2021
- UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $24,964,130 · FY 2021
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $22,977,417 · FY 2021
- THE BROAD INSTITUTE, INC $22,339,977 · FY 2021
- JACKSON LABORATORY $21,311,202 · FY 2021
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026
Assistance listing 93.173 · Research Related to Deafness and Communication Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.173), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 170 | $416,419 | $134,042 – $648,731 |
| FY 2025 | 238 | $418,797 | $187,647 – $1,008,401 |
| FY 2024 | 283 | $464,268 | $152,978 – $1,268,772 |
| FY 2023 | 260 | $689,002 | $272,758 – $1,868,608 |
| FY 2022 | 286 | $570,000 | $145,264 – $2,113,099 |
| FY 2021 | 246 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,483 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $4,621,171 · FY 2022
- UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR MEDICAL SCIENCES $4,589,310 · FY 2023
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $4,474,844 · FY 2022
- OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $3,863,432 · FY 2022
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $3,579,023 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026
Assistance listing 93.233 · National Center on Sleep Disorders Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.233), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026
Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 491 | $451,000 | $167,702 – $811,948 |
| FY 2025 | 600 | $731,738 | $320,544 – $1,460,736 |
| FY 2024 | 883 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 898 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 986 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 945 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,803 — award counts are complete.
- MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
- OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
- ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
- DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025
- ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $12,007,972 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026
Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 100 | $308,491 | $157,932 – $601,291 |
| FY 2025 | 175 | $440,566 | $194,934 – $1,114,948 |
| FY 2024 | 237 | $420,927 | $153,632 – $1,110,810 |
| FY 2023 | 327 | $619,032 | $350,328 – $1,806,361 |
| FY 2022 | 314 | $897,120 | $369,477 – $2,547,224 |
| FY 2021 | 274 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,427 — award counts are complete.
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $36,249,682 · FY 2022
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,079,530 · FY 2022
- BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $6,335,676 · FY 2023
- VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $5,361,769 · FY 2024
- LOHOCLA RESEARCH CORP $5,128,513 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026
Assistance listing 93.279 · Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.279), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 428 | $422,523 | $183,034 – $700,682 |
| FY 2025 | 588 | $709,054 | $348,214 – $1,489,059 |
| FY 2024 | 714 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 724 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 740 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 606 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,800 — award counts are complete.
- FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY $7,372,834 · FY 2025
- BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER, INC. $7,081,684 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $7,003,822 · FY 2025
- REACX PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. $6,900,000 · FY 2025
- WORCESTER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE $6,889,914 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.361 · Nursing Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.361), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 53 | $732,795 | $180,941 – $1,130,466 |
| FY 2025 | 62 | $675,031 | $385,758 – $1,535,483 |
| FY 2024 | 98 | $473,202 | $285,582 – $1,868,705 |
| FY 2023 | 102 | $758,157 | $158,307 – $2,468,665 |
| FY 2022 | 118 | $493,973 | $295,328 – $2,431,395 |
| FY 2021 | 108 | $478,145 | $361,349 – $2,696,899 |
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $13,344,757 · FY 2022
- THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $10,385,570 · FY 2025
- BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $8,282,292 · FY 2021
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $6,476,031 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $4,547,851 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026
Assistance listing 93.393 · Cancer Cause and Prevention Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.393), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 167 | $596,996 | $422,899 – $685,984 |
| FY 2025 | 233 | $743,438 | $397,772 – $1,287,560 |
| FY 2024 | 331 | $1,232,605 | $403,858 – $1,928,145 |
| FY 2023 | 333 | $1,580,141 | $399,888 – $2,324,497 |
| FY 2022 | 371 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 317 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,752 — award counts are complete.
- HEALTH RESEARCH, INC. $8,975,418 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $7,529,016 · FY 2024
- WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES $7,411,948 · FY 2023
- VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER $7,120,874 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $6,827,635 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026
Assistance listing 93.394 · Cancer Detection and Diagnosis Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.394), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 137 | $595,012 | $414,585 – $662,610 |
| FY 2025 | 184 | $726,875 | $399,923 – $1,297,708 |
| FY 2024 | 215 | $1,129,641 | $414,953 – $1,862,878 |
| FY 2023 | 268 | $1,754,736 | $438,924 – $2,398,100 |
| FY 2022 | 277 | $2,036,627 | $596,368 – $3,077,027 |
| FY 2021 | 269 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,350 — award counts are complete.
- TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $8,347,015 · FY 2022
- BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $6,630,183 · FY 2022
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $6,618,085 · FY 2022
- SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,181,895 · FY 2022
- OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $5,771,926 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026
Assistance listing 93.395 · Cancer Treatment Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.395), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 316 | $565,152 | $413,691 – $664,926 |
| FY 2025 | 435 | $677,787 | $402,400 – $1,233,798 |
| FY 2024 | 488 | $1,140,586 | $408,966 – $1,897,871 |
| FY 2023 | 522 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 519 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 517 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,797 — award counts are complete.
- THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER $6,902,371 · FY 2024
- VIRGINIA COMMONWEALTH UNIVERSITY $5,325,147 · FY 2024
- MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,597,865 · FY 2024
- PRIVO TECHNOLOGIES, INC. $4,499,992 · FY 2024
- FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $4,234,248 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.396 · Cancer Biology Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.396), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 289 | $565,909 | $400,614 – $660,808 |
| FY 2025 | 261 | $975,084 | $432,098 – $1,309,674 |
| FY 2024 | 333 | $1,287,771 | $456,103 – $1,958,901 |
| FY 2023 | 383 | $1,541,433 | $747,000 – $2,025,032 |
| FY 2022 | 401 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 396 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,063 — award counts are complete.
- RUTGERS, THE STATE UNIVERSITY $11,640,000 · FY 2024
- TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $7,902,036 · FY 2023
- SANFORD BURNHAM PREBYS MEDICAL DISCOVERY INSTITUTE $6,972,263 · FY 2024
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $5,522,226 · FY 2024
- WEILL MEDICAL COLLEGE OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY $5,035,979 · FY 2024
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026
Assistance listing 93.399 · Cancer Control
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.399), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2025 | 1 | $2,490,206 | $2,490,206 – $2,490,206 |
| FY 2024 | 13 | $3,165,783 | $804,361 – $3,227,950 |
| FY 2023 | 7 | $1,121,797 | $947,583 – $1,353,065 |
| FY 2022 | 14 | $4,573,965 | $2,523,875 – $6,154,995 |
| FY 2021 | 5 | $3,186,801 | $2,957,140 – $3,199,301 |
- UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE $16,730,455 · FY 2021
- VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE & STATE UNIVERSITY $8,183,001 · FY 2022
- FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $7,696,898 · FY 2022
- THE INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,471,989 · FY 2022
- WEILL MEDICAL COLLEGE OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY $4,655,326 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026
Assistance listing 93.837 · Cardiovascular Diseases Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.837), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 910 | $406,108 | $121,423 – $769,962 |
| FY 2025 | 1,358 | $638,002 | $257,444 – $1,262,955 |
| FY 2024 | 1,513 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,478 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,536 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,389 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,184 — award counts are complete.
- CHILDRENS HOSPITAL MEDICAL CENTER $6,452,040 · FY 2026
- KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS $3,918,561 · FY 2025
- ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $3,605,083 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH - OF THE COMMONWEALTH SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION $3,229,552 · FY 2026
- NORTHERN CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATION, INC. $3,002,716 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026
Assistance listing 93.838 · Lung Diseases Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.838), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.839 · Blood Diseases and Resources Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.839), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.840 · Translation and Implementation Science Research for Heart, Lung, Blood Diseases, and Sleep Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.840), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2025 | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2024 | 1 | $1,998,060 | $1,998,060 – $1,998,060 |
| FY 2023 | 8 | $718,015 | $520,326 – $1,181,909 |
| FY 2022 | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 0 | — | — |
- MICHIGAN PUBLIC HEALTH INSTITUTE $1,332,220 · FY 2023
- INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH $1,304,518 · FY 2023
- MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH $1,141,039 · FY 2023
- SOUTHERN NEVADA HEALTH DIST $762,811 · FY 2023
- COUNTY OF CHARLESTON $673,219 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 386 | $392,826 | $79,188 – $593,582 |
| FY 2025 | 665 | $452,972 | $178,000 – $1,225,547 |
| FY 2024 | 785 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 835 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 799 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 764 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.
- PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,635,347 · FY 2025
- GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
- RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 795 | $493,972 | $248,999 – $713,195 |
| FY 2025 | 1,033 | $643,089 | $467,538 – $1,733,010 |
| FY 2024 | 1,560 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,539 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,715 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,595 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
- SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
- TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.867 · Vision Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.867), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 189 | $440,263 | $132,837 – $633,742 |
| FY 2025 | 309 | $464,903 | $260,661 – $1,026,742 |
| FY 2024 | 408 | $630,967 | $342,920 – $1,431,708 |
| FY 2023 | 401 | $771,099 | $422,359 – $1,867,311 |
| FY 2022 | 391 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 394 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,092 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $8,283,963 · FY 2024
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,256,090 · FY 2023
- OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $4,539,043 · FY 2025
- ALLEN INSTITUTE $4,260,011 · FY 2025
- THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,026,010 · FY 2024
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026