Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. RFA-FD-25-007 · Food and Drug Administration

Open

Laboratory Flexible Funding Model (LFFM)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$0 – $1,500,000
Expected awards
~75
Application deadline
Jan 11, 2028
Posted
Feb 6, 2025
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Agriculture
  • Consumer Protection
  • Food and Nutrition
  • Capacity Building & Technical Assistance
  • Other / needs-review
  • Agriculture, Food Systems & Food Safety
Official description from grants.gov

This cooperative agreement is intended to enhance the capacity and capabilities of state human and animal food testing laboratories in support of an integrated food safety system (IFSS). This is achieved through prioritized sample testing and food defense preparedness in the areas of microbiology, chemistry, and radiochemistry, as well as method development and capacity/capability development projects that support and expand food safety and food defense testing.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.103 · Food and Drug Administration Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.103), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 2 $674,557 $362,279 – $986,836
FY 2025 128 $449,605 $217,500 – $750,000
FY 2024 95 $350,000 $101,736 – $1,005,321
FY 2023 176 $570,625 $154,967 – $997,677
FY 2022 136 $292,635 $128,510 – $1,080,535
FY 2021 131 $1,247,596 $218,607 – $2,622,614

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $1,500,000.

Who wins it Higher education (212), State government (196), Nonprofit (141) of 668 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states PA (45) · CA (43) · NY (28) · MD (25) · MA (20)
Largest recent awards
  1. NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH ASSOCIATION $36,000,000 · FY 2021
  2. FOOD & AGRICULTURE, CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF $24,423,552 · FY 2021
  3. ASSOCIATION OF FOOD & DRUG OFFICIALS $13,305,546 · FY 2022
  4. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $12,840,004 · FY 2023
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $7,424,773 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026