Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-228 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Investigator Initiated Innovation in Computational Genomics and Data Science (R01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 7, 2027
Posted
Nov 18, 2024
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds highly innovative research in computational genomics, including new data science, statistics, bioinformatics, and software approaches for human health and disease. It does not support clinical trials, and applications centered on microbial genomics, existing resources, controlled vocabularies, manual curation, or work that is not broadly generalizable are not responsive. A wide range of organizations may apply, including nonprofits, universities, governments, for-profit organizations, small businesses, and foreign organizations; foreign components are also allowed. Budgets are limited to less than $500,000 in direct costs per year, with a maximum project period of 5 years, and no cost sharing is required. The number of awards is not stated and depends on NIH appropriations and the number of meritorious applications.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Education
  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • AI, Computing & Cybersecurity
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of this funding opportunity announcement (FOA) is to invite applications for a broad range of research efforts in computational genomics, data science, statistics, and bioinformatics relevant to one or both of basic or clinical genomic science, and broadly applicable to human health and disease. This FOA supports fundamental genomics research developing innovative analytical methodologies and approaches, early-stage development of tools and software, and refinement or hardening of software and tools of high value to the biomedical genomics community. Work supported under this FOA should be enabling for genomics and be generalizable or broadly applicable across diseases and biological systems. All applications should address how the methods would scale to address increasingly larger data sets.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.172 · Human Genome Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.172), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 59 $719,909 $248,971 – $2,040,991
FY 2025 100 $491,802 $283,764 – $1,360,276
FY 2024 180 $737,013 $395,019 – $1,360,662
FY 2023 179 $766,801 $392,035 – $2,341,997
FY 2022 175 $894,953 $401,519 – $2,830,080
FY 2021 215 $1,999,233 $431,511 – $5,047,468
Who wins it Higher education (576), Nonprofit (196), Business (100) of 908 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (163) · MA (125) · NY (103) · PA (43) · NC (17)
Largest recent awards
  1. BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $26,395,336 · FY 2021
  2. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $24,964,130 · FY 2021
  3. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $22,977,417 · FY 2021
  4. THE BROAD INSTITUTE, INC $22,339,977 · FY 2021
  5. JACKSON LABORATORY $21,311,202 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026

Assistance listing 93.879 · Medical Library Assistance

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.879), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 31 $349,875 $149,897 – $642,658
FY 2025 34 $614,550 $462,000 – $823,053
FY 2024 56 $485,250 $224,711 – $995,406
FY 2023 53 $727,873 $286,324 – $1,435,500
FY 2022 61 $812,919 $413,880 – $1,390,150
FY 2021 63 $1,329,473 $351,797 – $1,651,842
Who wins it Higher education (223), Nonprofit (41), Business (17) of 298 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (43) · PA (32) · MA (23) · NY (22) · IL (9)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $11,107,283 · FY 2021
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, BALTIMORE $10,600,468 · FY 2021
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,868,908 · FY 2021
  4. THE MEDICAL UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINA $6,810,297 · FY 2021
  5. THE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA $6,236,524 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 24, 2026