No. PAR-24-325 · National Institutes of Health
Bioengineering Partnerships with Industry (U01 Clinical Trial Optional)
Not reimbursement-only
“Cooperative Agreement: A financial assistance mechanism used when there will be substantial Federal scientific or programmatic involvement.” — From the announcement
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Sep 7, 2027
- Posted
- Nov 6, 2024
- Last verified
- 3 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis program funds academic and industrial partnerships to develop and speed adoption of bioengineering tools and technologies for important unmet biomedical problems. Applicants may be nonprofits, universities, for-profit organizations, small businesses, governments, tribal entities, federal entities, foreign organizations, and other eligible organizations, but each application must include an academic-industrial partnership. Awards have no set budget limit, the number of awards depends on NIH appropriations and meritorious applications, and the project period can be up to 5 years. No cost sharing is required. Some NIH institutes limit the kinds of projects they will support, and clinical trial support is restricted in several cases, including only certain early-stage, minimal-risk, or mechanistic trials depending on the institute.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
This Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) solicits applications from research partnerships formed by academic and industrial investigators to accelerate the development and adoption of promising bioengineering tools and technologies that can address important biomedical problems. The objectives are to establish these tools and technologies as robust, well-characterized solutions that fulfill an unmet need and are capable of enhancing our understanding of life science processes or the practice of medicine. Awards will focus on supporting multidisciplinary teams that apply an integrative, quantitative bioengineering approach to developing technologies. The goal of the program is to support technological innovations that deliver new capabilities which can realize meaningful solutions within 5 10 years.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.286 · Discovery and Applied Research for Technological Innovations to Improve Human Health
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.286), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 127 | $276,000 | $117,190 – $583,962 |
| FY 2025 | 240 | $555,997 | $296,281 – $1,161,259 |
| FY 2024 | 231 | $589,216 | $349,987 – $1,434,349 |
| FY 2023 | 252 | $652,889 | $409,140 – $1,745,975 |
| FY 2022 | 303 | $691,306 | $420,665 – $2,168,108 |
| FY 2021 | 285 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,438 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS $6,543,053 · FY 2022
- ALLEN INSTITUTE $6,281,935 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,888,124 · FY 2024
- WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY, THE $4,858,373 · FY 2024
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, THE $4,329,771 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.394 · Cancer Detection and Diagnosis Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.394), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 137 | $595,012 | $414,585 – $662,610 |
| FY 2025 | 184 | $726,875 | $399,923 – $1,297,708 |
| FY 2024 | 215 | $1,129,641 | $414,953 – $1,862,878 |
| FY 2023 | 268 | $1,754,736 | $438,924 – $2,398,100 |
| FY 2022 | 277 | $2,036,627 | $596,368 – $3,077,027 |
| FY 2021 | 269 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,350 — award counts are complete.
- TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $8,347,015 · FY 2022
- BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $6,630,183 · FY 2022
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $6,618,085 · FY 2022
- SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,181,895 · FY 2022
- OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $5,771,926 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026
Assistance listing 93.395 · Cancer Treatment Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.395), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 316 | $565,152 | $413,691 – $664,926 |
| FY 2025 | 435 | $677,787 | $402,400 – $1,233,798 |
| FY 2024 | 488 | $1,140,586 | $408,966 – $1,897,871 |
| FY 2023 | 522 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 519 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 517 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,797 — award counts are complete.
- THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER $6,902,371 · FY 2024
- VIRGINIA COMMONWEALTH UNIVERSITY $5,325,147 · FY 2024
- MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,597,865 · FY 2024
- PRIVO TECHNOLOGIES, INC. $4,499,992 · FY 2024
- FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $4,234,248 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 795 | $493,972 | $248,999 – $713,195 |
| FY 2025 | 1,033 | $643,089 | $467,538 – $1,733,010 |
| FY 2024 | 1,560 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,539 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,715 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,595 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
- SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
- TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.867 · Vision Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.867), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 189 | $440,263 | $132,837 – $633,742 |
| FY 2025 | 309 | $464,903 | $260,661 – $1,026,742 |
| FY 2024 | 408 | $630,967 | $342,920 – $1,431,708 |
| FY 2023 | 401 | $771,099 | $422,359 – $1,867,311 |
| FY 2022 | 391 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 394 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,092 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $8,283,963 · FY 2024
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,256,090 · FY 2023
- OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $4,539,043 · FY 2025
- ALLEN INSTITUTE $4,260,011 · FY 2025
- THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,026,010 · FY 2024
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026