Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-131 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Computational Approaches to Curation at Scale for Biomedical Research Assets (R01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Up to $250,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Apr 15, 2027
Posted
Oct 29, 2024
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds new computational methods, tools, and curated datasets that automate curation of biomedical research data and other digital assets at scale. It is open to a wide range of U.S. organizations, including nonprofits, universities, governments, small businesses, and other eligible entities, but foreign organizations and non-domestic components of U.S. organizations are not eligible to apply. Awards are grants with budgets limited to $250,000 in direct costs per year, excluding consortium F&A costs, for up to 4 years, and the number of awards depends on NIH appropriations and meritorious applications. No cost sharing is required, and clinical trials are not allowed.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Education
  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • AI, Computing & Cybersecurity
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

NLM wishes to accelerate access to, and availability of, secure, complete datasets and computational models that can serve as the basis for transformative biomedical discoveries. Innovative at-scale computational approaches that increase the speed and scope of curation processes are needed for data mining and knowledge discovery from growing quantities of biomedical data being produced from ongoing data science advances.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.879 · Medical Library Assistance

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.879), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 31 $349,875 $149,897 – $642,658
FY 2025 34 $614,550 $462,000 – $823,053
FY 2024 56 $485,250 $224,711 – $995,406
FY 2023 53 $727,873 $286,324 – $1,435,500
FY 2022 61 $812,919 $413,880 – $1,390,150
FY 2021 63 $1,329,473 $351,797 – $1,651,842

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $250,000.

Who wins it Higher education (223), Nonprofit (41), Business (17) of 298 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (43) · PA (32) · MA (23) · NY (22) · IL (9)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $11,107,283 · FY 2021
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, BALTIMORE $10,600,468 · FY 2021
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,868,908 · FY 2021
  4. THE MEDICAL UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINA $6,810,297 · FY 2021
  5. THE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA $6,236,524 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 24, 2026