Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-113 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Advancement and Innovation in Measurement of Language Development and Predictors (R21 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 7, 2027
Posted
Nov 18, 2024
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds exploratory, developmental, or pilot research to create or validate new ways to measure children’s language development and the language environment, including tools that are culturally and linguistically responsive. Applicants may include higher education institutions, nonprofits, governments, for-profit organizations, small businesses, tribal organizations, faith-based or community-based organizations, and foreign organizations; foreign components of U.S. organizations are also allowed. Awards are limited to 2 years, with no more than $275,000 in direct costs for the full project period and no more than $200,000 in any one year, and no cost sharing is required. Applications must include a community engagement plan and a data management and sharing plan, and clinical trials are not allowed. NINDS is especially interested in projects focused on language or communication difficulties in neurological conditions, but the notice says only those topics within the institute’s mission are eligible.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Income Security and Social Services
  • Research & Discovery
  • Children, Youth & Families
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Maternal, Child & Reproductive Health
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of this notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) is to encourage community-engaged research that broadens the conceptualization of qualities of the environment that can support language development in children and that focuses on the development of novel measures of childrens language development. The overall goal is to build the number of strengths-focused, culturally and linguistically responsive, and generalizable toolsto further our understanding of childrens language development and/or impairment, and predictors thereof.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.173 · Research Related to Deafness and Communication Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.173), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 170 $416,419 $134,042 – $648,731
FY 2025 238 $418,797 $187,647 – $1,008,401
FY 2024 283 $464,268 $152,978 – $1,268,772
FY 2023 260 $689,002 $272,758 – $1,868,608
FY 2022 286 $570,000 $145,264 – $2,113,099
FY 2021 246

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,483 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,127), Nonprofit (192), Business (83) of 1,483 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states MA (107) · CA (101) · NY (89) · PA (78) · MD (30)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $4,621,171 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR MEDICAL SCIENCES $4,589,310 · FY 2023
  3. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $4,474,844 · FY 2022
  4. OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $3,863,432 · FY 2022
  5. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $3,579,023 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026

Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 386 $392,826 $79,188 – $593,582
FY 2025 665 $452,972 $178,000 – $1,225,547
FY 2024 785
FY 2023 835
FY 2022 799
FY 2021 764

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,137), Nonprofit (693), Business (224) of 4,234 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (103) · MA (87) · PA (75) · NY (62) · MI (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,635,347 · FY 2025
  4. GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
  5. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026