No. PAR-25-149 · National Institutes of Health
Limited Competition: Renewal of Existing NINDS-Supported Clinical Trial Cooperative Agreement Awards (U01 - Clinical Trials Required)
Not reimbursement-only
“Cooperative Agreement: A financial assistance mechanism” — From the announcement
Invitation only
“This is a limited competition.” — From the announcement
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Nov 5, 2027
- Posted
- Oct 28, 2024
- Last verified
- 3 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis notice supports renewal applications for existing NINDS-funded clinical trial cooperative agreements (U01) that need more time and funds to finish an active trial. Only institutions with current NINDS U01 awards originally funded under the listed NINDS or NIH StrokeNet announcements may apply, and the application must include a clinical trial. The number of awards depends on NIH funding and the number of meritorious applications, and budgets are not capped but must match the project’s actual needs; the maximum project period is 5 years. No cost sharing is required. Foreign organizations are not eligible to apply, although foreign components of U.S. organizations are allowed.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
This limited competition Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) invites renewal applications of existing NINDS-supported clinical trial cooperative agreement awards (U01) requiring additional time and resources to complete the clinical trial.
Who can apply
- Independent school districts
- Others
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 654 | $405,461 | $120,825 – $587,738 |
| FY 2025 | 923 | $491,085 | $157,949 – $1,077,840 |
| FY 2024 | 1,031 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,194 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,228 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,132 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
- YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
- MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026