Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-24-235 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Tribal Undergraduate to Graduate Research Training and Leadership Experiences (TURTLE) Program (UE5/T32)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 25, 2027
Posted
Sep 3, 2024
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Tribal & Indigenous Communities
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • STEM Education & Research Training
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of the Tribal Undergraduate to Graduate Research Training and Leadership Experiences (TURTLE) program is to fund federally recognized American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) Tribes, tribal colleges or universities, Tribal health programs, or Tribal organizations (collectively termed, eligible Tribal Entities) to identify and develop a pool of scientists to conduct research on AI/AN health and health disparities. Through this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO), NIGMS will provide support for a phased award to eligible AI/AN Tribal Entities to develop (UE5) and implement (T32) effective training and mentoring activities for research-oriented individuals earning a doctoral degree in a biomedical research field at a variety of institutions across the United States and territories. The overall purpose is to support the development of individuals who have the technical, operational, and professional skills required to conduct AI/AN health research in a culturally appropriate, ethically responsible and rigorous manner, to complete Ph.D.s in a biomedical field, and to transition into careers in the biomedical research workforce.

Who can apply

  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide
Set-aside Set aside or prioritized for: Tribal college (TCU)
“Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs)” — From the announcement

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.859 · Biomedical Research and Research Training

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.859), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 1,048 $420,000 $325,870 – $487,506
FY 2025 1,115
FY 2024 1,171
FY 2023 1,383
FY 2022 1,574
FY 2021 1,321

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 7,612 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,024), Nonprofit (734), Business (565) of 7,612 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (149) · NY (81) · TX (73) · PA (60) · MA (55)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI MEDICAL CENTER $5,185,402 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $3,654,310 · FY 2026
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $2,993,000 · FY 2026
  4. BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $2,843,142 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF LOUISVILLE $2,652,150 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026