Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-043 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Mechanisms that Impact Cancer Risk after Bariatric Surgery (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Up to $500,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 7, 2028
Posted
Sep 5, 2024
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds investigator-initiated research on the mechanisms by which bariatric surgery affects cancer risk, including animal studies, human studies, or both. It is open to a wide range of U.S. and foreign nonprofit, government, academic, tribal, faith-based, community-based, regional, and for-profit organizations, but foreign organizations and non-U.S. components of U.S. organizations are not eligible to apply. Awards are limited to $500,000 in direct costs per year, for up to 5 years, and the number of awards depends on NIH funding and the quality of applications. No cost sharing is required. The notice says studies should focus on the bariatric procedures now most commonly used, sleeve gastrectomy and Roux-en-Y gastric bypass, and foreign components are allowed.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Education
  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

Through this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO), the National Cancer Institute (NCI) invites applications for support of investigator-initiated studies addressing mechanisms by which bariatric surgery impacts cancer risk, and seeks to draw in talented scientists who study bariatric surgery to investigate its effects on cancer, rather than shorter-term outcomes such as weight loss and diabetes.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.393 · Cancer Cause and Prevention Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.393), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 167 $596,996 $422,899 – $685,984
FY 2025 233 $743,438 $397,772 – $1,287,560
FY 2024 331 $1,232,605 $403,858 – $1,928,145
FY 2023 333 $1,580,141 $399,888 – $2,324,497
FY 2022 371
FY 2021 317

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,752 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,176), Nonprofit (458), Business (49) of 1,752 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (124) · CA (100) · MA (89) · TX (82) · NC (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. HEALTH RESEARCH, INC. $8,975,418 · FY 2023
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $7,529,016 · FY 2024
  3. WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES $7,411,948 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER $7,120,874 · FY 2023
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $6,827,635 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026

Assistance listing 93.396 · Cancer Biology Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.396), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 289 $565,909 $400,614 – $660,808
FY 2025 261 $975,084 $432,098 – $1,309,674
FY 2024 333 $1,287,771 $456,103 – $1,958,901
FY 2023 383 $1,541,433 $747,000 – $2,025,032
FY 2022 401
FY 2021 396

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,063 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,417), Nonprofit (511), Business (47) of 2,063 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (147) · CA (122) · TX (95) · MA (74) · PA (42)
Largest recent awards
  1. RUTGERS, THE STATE UNIVERSITY $11,640,000 · FY 2024
  2. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $7,902,036 · FY 2023
  3. SANFORD BURNHAM PREBYS MEDICAL DISCOVERY INSTITUTE $6,972,263 · FY 2024
  4. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $5,522,226 · FY 2024
  5. WEILL MEDICAL COLLEGE OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY $5,035,979 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026

Assistance listing 93.399 · Cancer Control

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.399), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 1 $2,490,206 $2,490,206 – $2,490,206
FY 2024 13 $3,165,783 $804,361 – $3,227,950
FY 2023 7 $1,121,797 $947,583 – $1,353,065
FY 2022 14 $4,573,965 $2,523,875 – $6,154,995
FY 2021 5 $3,186,801 $2,957,140 – $3,199,301

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $500,000.

Who wins it Higher education (28), Nonprofit (8) of 40 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (5) · WA (5) · MI (3) · NY (3) · GA (2)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE $16,730,455 · FY 2021
  2. VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE & STATE UNIVERSITY $8,183,001 · FY 2022
  3. FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $7,696,898 · FY 2022
  4. THE INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,471,989 · FY 2022
  5. WEILL MEDICAL COLLEGE OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY $4,655,326 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026