Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-027 · National Institutes of Health

Open

NIDCR Dentist Scientist Career Transition Award for Intramural Investigators (K22 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Indirect Costs (also known as Facilities & Administrative [F&A] Costs) are reimbursed at 8% of modified total direct costs.” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 7, 2028
Posted
Nov 12, 2024
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This award funds up to two years of mentored research training in an NIH intramural lab, followed by up to three years of support at an extramural institution for an independent research career in dental, oral, and craniofacial research. Only NIH Intramural Programs can apply for the mentored Phase 1, and the Phase 2 sponsoring institution may be public or private, including NIH Intramural Programs; foreign organizations and non-U.S. components are not eligible. The total project period may not exceed five years, and the extramural phase is capped at $249,000 total cost per year, with indirect costs paid at 8% of modified total direct costs. No cost sharing is required, and applications may not propose independent clinical trials, clinical trial feasibility studies, or ancillary clinical trials.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of the NIDCR Dentist Scientist Career Transition Award for Intramural Investigators (K22) program is to facilitate transition of highly qualified dentists from NIH Intramural postdoctoral research positions to extramural academic tenure-track or equivalent faculty positions at eligible institutions. The award will provide support for two years of mentored postdoctoral research training in the NIH Intramural Research Program, and three years of independent research funding at the extramural institution.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.121 · Oral Diseases and Disorders Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.121), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 155 $429,000 $306,500 – $571,863
FY 2025 277 $429,000 $310,295 – $829,259
FY 2024 301 $491,193 $310,985 – $1,283,003
FY 2023 320 $444,000 $298,673 – $1,756,575
FY 2022 295
FY 2021 305

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,653 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,224), Nonprofit (242), Business (71) of 1,653 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (124) · PA (83) · MA (82) · NY (70) · TX (35)
Largest recent awards
  1. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $6,128,166 · FY 2023
  2. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,961,133 · FY 2023
  3. RESEARCH FOUNDATION OF THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK $4,002,156 · FY 2023
  4. DANA-FARBER CANCER INSTITUTE, INC. $3,742,682 · FY 2025
  5. TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $3,736,064 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026