Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-273 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Development of Animal Models and Related Biological Materials for Research (R21 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Up to $200,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 7, 2028
Posted
Nov 15, 2024
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds innovative research to develop, improve, characterize, preserve, and validate animal models, related biological materials, and animal-model-based methods and technologies, including some non-animal methods that complement animal research. It is for projects with animal models that address multiple NIH institutes and multiple body systems or disease categories, not projects focused mainly on one disease or one institute’s mission. Eligible applicants include a wide range of U.S. organizations, including nonprofits, universities, governments, small businesses, and faith-based or community-based organizations; foreign organizations and non-U.S. components of U.S. organizations are not eligible, though foreign components are allowed. Awards are grants with no cost sharing, and applications may request up to $200,000 in direct costs per year and up to $275,000 in direct costs over a two-year period. The announcement does not state a fixed number of awards.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

This notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) encourages innovative research to develop, improve, characterize, and preserve animal models as well as animal model related biological materials, technologies, and new approach methodologies (NAMs) for studies relevant to human health and disease. This NOFO also seeks projects aimed at improving the diagnosis and control of diseases that could confound or interfere with animal use in biomedical research. The proposed project must have broad applicability to multiple NIH Institutes or Centers (ICs) to align with the NIH-wide mission of the Office of Research Infrastructure Programs (ORIP). The proposed studies must include animal models and explore multiple body systems or multiple categories of diseases. Applications that develop models focused on a specific disease or area of research, or only propose studies primarily relevant to a single NIH IC, will be considered not acceptable to this NOFO and will be withdrawn.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.351 · Research Infrastructure Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.351), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 139 $607,409 $418,448 – $813,252
FY 2025 168 $596,737 $349,073 – $1,388,571
FY 2024 188 $571,633 $349,563 – $966,019
FY 2023 197 $590,126 $340,122 – $1,345,699
FY 2022 223 $571,482 $334,100 – $755,338
FY 2021 163 $589,686 $399,709 – $999,500

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $200,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,078 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (818), Nonprofit (186), Business (39) of 1,078 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (125) · NY (89) · MA (80) · TX (64) · PA (35)
Largest recent awards
  1. OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $16,992,533 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MISSOURI SYSTEM $6,307,489 · FY 2023
  3. BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $5,213,369 · FY 2021
  4. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, DAVIS $4,023,900 · FY 2023
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA IRVINE $3,694,446 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026