No. PAR-25-256 · National Institutes of Health
Developing novel theory and methods for understanding the genetic architecture of complex human traits (R21 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Jan 7, 2027
- Posted
- Nov 15, 2024
- Last verified
- 3 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis NIH funding opportunity supports new theory, models, and methods for understanding the genetic architecture of complex human traits. It is open to a wide range of U.S. and non-U.S. organizations, including nonprofits, universities, governments, for-profit firms, and foreign organizations, and foreign components of U.S. organizations are allowed. Awards are limited to a two-year project period, with up to $275,000 in direct costs total and no more than $200,000 in any single year. No cost sharing is required. The announcement is not for clinical trials, and new data generation for validation cannot exceed 20% of direct costs; existing data used must be publicly available.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The goal of this NOFO is to support R21 applications for novel theory and methods development that better delineate how genetic and non-genetic factors contribute to complex trait variation across individuals, families, and populations. Approaches should be interdisciplinary across the natural and social sciences, account for interdependencies across scales of biological, social, and ecological organization, and make extensive use of theory, simulations, and validation using available large-scale datasets
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.172 · Human Genome Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.172), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 59 | $719,909 | $248,971 – $2,040,991 |
| FY 2025 | 100 | $491,802 | $283,764 – $1,360,276 |
| FY 2024 | 180 | $737,013 | $395,019 – $1,360,662 |
| FY 2023 | 179 | $766,801 | $392,035 – $2,341,997 |
| FY 2022 | 175 | $894,953 | $401,519 – $2,830,080 |
| FY 2021 | 215 | $1,999,233 | $431,511 – $5,047,468 |
- BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $26,395,336 · FY 2021
- UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $24,964,130 · FY 2021
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $22,977,417 · FY 2021
- THE BROAD INSTITUTE, INC $22,339,977 · FY 2021
- JACKSON LABORATORY $21,311,202 · FY 2021
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026
Assistance listing 93.399 · Cancer Control
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.399), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2025 | 1 | $2,490,206 | $2,490,206 – $2,490,206 |
| FY 2024 | 13 | $3,165,783 | $804,361 – $3,227,950 |
| FY 2023 | 7 | $1,121,797 | $947,583 – $1,353,065 |
| FY 2022 | 14 | $4,573,965 | $2,523,875 – $6,154,995 |
| FY 2021 | 5 | $3,186,801 | $2,957,140 – $3,199,301 |
- UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE $16,730,455 · FY 2021
- VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE & STATE UNIVERSITY $8,183,001 · FY 2022
- FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $7,696,898 · FY 2022
- THE INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,471,989 · FY 2022
- WEILL MEDICAL COLLEGE OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY $4,655,326 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026