No. PAR-24-295 · National Institutes of Health
Emerging Global Leader Award (K43 Independent Clinical Trial Required)
Not reimbursement-only
“The award will provide salary and research project support.” — From the announcement
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Dec 3, 2026
- Posted
- Oct 15, 2024
- Last verified
- 7 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis program supports mentored research career development for junior faculty scientists at academic or research institutions in low- or middle-income countries. It provides salary and research project support for work that is mainly carried out in the LMIC and is meant to help awardees move toward independent research careers. The text does not state the number or size of awards, and it does not mention a cost-share requirement. Some participating NIH institutes and centers focus on specific topics such as cancer, heart/lung/blood/sleep disorders, genomics, aging, drug use and addiction, hearing and communication disorders, environmental health, neurology, mental health, HIV, and women’s health; NIDCD notes that institutions in the same-language geographic regions may offer special opportunities for regional collaboration.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
This is a reissue of the Emerging Global Leader Program (K43) to align with the clinical trials policy.
Who can apply
- Others
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.113 · Environmental Health
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.113), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 149 | $379,262 | $119,524 – $644,459 |
| FY 2025 | 210 | $431,750 | $254,376 – $1,187,118 |
| FY 2024 | 281 | $583,878 | $300,000 – $1,672,899 |
| FY 2023 | 242 | $587,197 | $216,320 – $1,842,227 |
| FY 2022 | 258 | $465,538 | $259,613 – $2,117,638 |
| FY 2021 | 239 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,379 — award counts are complete.
- VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER $32,769,976 · FY 2023
- NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY $10,038,112 · FY 2023
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,460,610 · FY 2022
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $9,120,320 · FY 2022
- TRUSTEES OF BOSTON UNIVERSITY $8,944,898 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026
Assistance listing 93.172 · Human Genome Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.172), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 59 | $719,909 | $248,971 – $2,040,991 |
| FY 2025 | 100 | $491,802 | $283,764 – $1,360,276 |
| FY 2024 | 180 | $737,013 | $395,019 – $1,360,662 |
| FY 2023 | 179 | $766,801 | $392,035 – $2,341,997 |
| FY 2022 | 175 | $894,953 | $401,519 – $2,830,080 |
| FY 2021 | 215 | $1,999,233 | $431,511 – $5,047,468 |
- BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $26,395,336 · FY 2021
- UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $24,964,130 · FY 2021
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $22,977,417 · FY 2021
- THE BROAD INSTITUTE, INC $22,339,977 · FY 2021
- JACKSON LABORATORY $21,311,202 · FY 2021
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026
Assistance listing 93.173 · Research Related to Deafness and Communication Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.173), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 170 | $416,419 | $134,042 – $648,731 |
| FY 2025 | 238 | $418,797 | $187,647 – $1,008,401 |
| FY 2024 | 283 | $464,268 | $152,978 – $1,268,772 |
| FY 2023 | 260 | $689,002 | $272,758 – $1,868,608 |
| FY 2022 | 286 | $570,000 | $145,264 – $2,113,099 |
| FY 2021 | 246 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,483 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $4,621,171 · FY 2022
- UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR MEDICAL SCIENCES $4,589,310 · FY 2023
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $4,474,844 · FY 2022
- OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $3,863,432 · FY 2022
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $3,579,023 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026
Assistance listing 93.233 · National Center on Sleep Disorders Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.233), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026
Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 491 | $451,000 | $167,702 – $811,948 |
| FY 2025 | 600 | $731,738 | $320,544 – $1,460,736 |
| FY 2024 | 883 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 898 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 986 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 945 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,803 — award counts are complete.
- MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
- OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
- ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
- DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025
- ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $12,007,972 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026
Assistance listing 93.279 · Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.279), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 428 | $422,523 | $183,034 – $700,682 |
| FY 2025 | 588 | $709,054 | $348,214 – $1,489,059 |
| FY 2024 | 714 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 724 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 740 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 606 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,800 — award counts are complete.
- FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY $7,372,834 · FY 2025
- BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER, INC. $7,081,684 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $7,003,822 · FY 2025
- REACX PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. $6,900,000 · FY 2025
- WORCESTER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE $6,889,914 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.313 · NIH Office of Research on Women's Health
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.313), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026
Assistance listing 93.398 · Cancer Research Manpower
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.398), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 276 | $54,054 | $47,103 – $150,818 |
| FY 2025 | 345 | $123,409 | $87,964 – $287,576 |
| FY 2024 | 322 | $223,327 | $109,842 – $537,651 |
| FY 2023 | 381 | $632,297 | $272,352 – $830,594 |
| FY 2022 | 363 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 443 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,130 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $4,313,330 · FY 2024
- NEW YORK UNIVERSITY $2,239,066 · FY 2023
- SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $1,780,430 · FY 2023
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $1,674,301 · FY 2024
- TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $1,480,091 · FY 2024
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026
Assistance listing 93.837 · Cardiovascular Diseases Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.837), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 910 | $406,108 | $121,423 – $769,962 |
| FY 2025 | 1,358 | $638,002 | $257,444 – $1,262,955 |
| FY 2024 | 1,513 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,478 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,536 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,389 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,184 — award counts are complete.
- CHILDRENS HOSPITAL MEDICAL CENTER $6,452,040 · FY 2026
- KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS $3,918,561 · FY 2025
- ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $3,605,083 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH - OF THE COMMONWEALTH SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION $3,229,552 · FY 2026
- NORTHERN CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATION, INC. $3,002,716 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026
Assistance listing 93.838 · Lung Diseases Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.838), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.839 · Blood Diseases and Resources Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.839), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.840 · Translation and Implementation Science Research for Heart, Lung, Blood Diseases, and Sleep Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.840), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2025 | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2024 | 1 | $1,998,060 | $1,998,060 – $1,998,060 |
| FY 2023 | 8 | $718,015 | $520,326 – $1,181,909 |
| FY 2022 | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 0 | — | — |
- MICHIGAN PUBLIC HEALTH INSTITUTE $1,332,220 · FY 2023
- INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH $1,304,518 · FY 2023
- MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH $1,141,039 · FY 2023
- SOUTHERN NEVADA HEALTH DIST $762,811 · FY 2023
- COUNTY OF CHARLESTON $673,219 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 654 | $405,461 | $120,825 – $587,738 |
| FY 2025 | 923 | $491,085 | $157,949 – $1,077,840 |
| FY 2024 | 1,031 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,194 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,228 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,132 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
- YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
- MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 795 | $493,972 | $248,999 – $713,195 |
| FY 2025 | 1,033 | $643,089 | $467,538 – $1,733,010 |
| FY 2024 | 1,560 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,539 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,715 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,595 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
- SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
- TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.989 · International Research and Research Training
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.989), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 21 | $217,539 | $183,500 – $440,709 |
| FY 2025 | 57 | $394,638 | $302,782 – $586,806 |
| FY 2024 | 80 | $495,489 | $330,303 – $744,811 |
| FY 2023 | 108 | $609,924 | $385,840 – $983,528 |
| FY 2022 | 102 | $806,495 | $399,794 – $1,352,714 |
| FY 2021 | 126 | $789,446 | $382,191 – $1,700,862 |
- CORNELL UNIVERSITY $15,921,171 · FY 2021
- THE AGA KHAN UNIVERSITY- KENYA $7,737,349 · FY 2021
- UNIVERSITY OF BUEA $7,232,830 · FY 2021
- NEW YORK UNIVERSITY $6,839,490 · FY 2022
- WITS HEALTH CONSORTIUM (PTY) LTD $6,779,346 · FY 2021
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 1, 2026