Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. DE-SOL-0008246 · Idaho Field Office

Open

RFI - DOE R

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$0 – $0
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
No deadline listed
Posted
Jan 14, 2016
Last verified
3 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This document is a request for information, not a funding opportunity, and DOE says it does not currently intend to make any contract or financial assistance award from it. It asks for input to shape future competitive university research funding for the Office of Nuclear Energy, including research topics, solicitation design, and university engagement. It seeks responses from educational institutions, national laboratories, utilities, private industry, and other interested parties. The text notes that future university research awards have been increased up to $1,000,000 for NEUP R&D projects, but this RFI itself has no award count, cost share, or geographic restriction stated.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Energy
  • Planning & Coordination
  • Other / needs-review
  • Energy, Nuclear & Critical Materials
Official description from grants.gov

University, National Laboratory, Industry, and International Entities Input to the Office of Nuclear Energy’s Competitive Research and Development Work Scope Development - DOE is seeking ideas in the areas of research, information, comments, feedback, and recommendations from interested parties for future work scopes for the major NE-funded research programs. All responses are to be made at NEUP.gov per the attached instructions.

Who can apply

  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Small businesses
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 81.121 · Nuclear Energy Research, Development and Demonstration

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (81.121), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 63 $799,686 $250,870 – $935,650
FY 2025 5 $15,000 $10,000 – $704,763
FY 2024 95 $800,000 $291,480 – $900,000
FY 2023 94 $800,000 $500,000 – $999,972
FY 2022 92 $625,000 $316,605 – $763,724
FY 2021 168 $529,250 $268,356 – $704,517

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $0.

Who wins it Higher education (442), Business (36), Nonprofit (18) of 517 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states PA (35) · TX (33) · IL (19) · MA (17) · CA (16)
Largest recent awards
  1. US SFR OWNER LLC $983,037,068 · FY 2021
  2. X ENERGY, LLC $921,717,024 · FY 2021
  3. CFPP LLC $164,741,352 · FY 2021
  4. FRAMATOME INC $108,279,097 · FY 2022
  5. HOLTEC GOVERNMENT SERVICES LLC $104,148,813 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 10, 2026