Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-268 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Investigator Initiated Clinical Trials of Complementary and Integrative Interventions Delivered Remotely or via mHealth (R01 Clinical Trial Required)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Nov 17, 2026
Posted
Nov 21, 2024
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This funding opportunity supports fully remote clinical trials of complementary and integrative health interventions, including mind and body approaches, natural products, or combinations of these, using efficacy, effectiveness, or pragmatic designs. Eligible applicants are not stated in the text, but the trial must collect all data remotely, recruit geographically distributed participants, and not use a waitlist comparator. The announcement says trials must be designed with at least 90% power, but it does not give an award size, number of awards, or cost-share requirement. It highlights high-priority topics such as symptom management, mental health, pain, sleep, gut microbiome-brain interactions, disparities, and HIV-related outcomes, and notes that studies with natural products regulated by DEA as controlled substances will not be supported.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) encourages applications for investigator-initiated fully remotely delivered and conducted clinical trials to assess the efficacy or effectiveness of complementary and integrative health interventions in NCCIH- designated areas of high research priority. Applications submitted under this NOFO are expected to propose a remotely delivered and conducted fully powered clinical trial with no in-person contact between research staff and study participants and may utilize mHealth tools or technologies. Applicants must provide justification for the remotely delivered approach and provide preliminary data on the feasibility and safety of the approach, along with evidence that the intervention has promise of clinical benefit. Applicants are encouraged to contact the appropriate NCCIH Scientific/Research contact for the area of science for which they are planning to develop an application prior to submitting to this NOFO.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.213 · Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.213), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 58 $441,813 $190,230 – $676,906
FY 2025 51 $472,500 $321,065 – $1,329,943
FY 2024 100 $562,397 $286,558 – $1,285,052
FY 2023 92 $695,557 $380,313 – $1,709,004
FY 2022 94 $715,153 $419,983 – $1,985,928
FY 2021 92 $1,686,420 $625,217 – $3,082,386
Who wins it Higher education (342), Nonprofit (97), Business (33) of 487 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (77) · MA (59) · NY (29) · NC (12) · IL (11)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $21,646,919 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA $11,192,369 · FY 2022
  3. DUKE UNIVERSITY $7,025,837 · FY 2022
  4. THE RAND CORPORATION $6,237,409 · FY 2023
  5. THE SPAULDING REHABILITATION HOSPITAL CORPORATION $5,991,655 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026