No. FTA-2026-004-TRI · DOT - Federal Transit Administration
FY26 Bus Safety, Accessibility, and Innovation Notice of Funding Opportunity
- Award range
- $0 – $10,000,000
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Sep 28, 2026 26 days left
- Posted
- Jul 29, 2026
- Last verified
- 7 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThe Federal Transit Administration is offering $10 million in competitive funds for the FY 2026 Bus Safety, Accessibility, and Innovation Research Program. The notice does not state who may apply, any award count or size beyond the total funding, or any cost-share requirement. No geographic or set-aside restrictions are stated in the text provided. Proposals must be submitted through Grants.gov by September 28, 2026, and mail or fax submissions will not be accepted.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The Federal Transit Administration (FTA) announces the opportunity to apply for competitive awards totaling up to $10 million in Public Transportation Innovation Program (49 U.S.C. 5312) funds for the Fiscal Year (FY) 2026 Bus Safety, Accessibility, and Innovation Research Program under Assistance Listing Number 20.530. As required by Federal public transportation law, funds will be awarded competitively to up to two projects to develop and prototype innovative and widely deployable concepts that are intended to make existing and new buses safer for their operators and vulnerable road users, and safer and more accessible for their passengers.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Individuals
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Small businesses
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 20.530 · Public Transportation Innovation
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (20.530), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 3 | $7,212,560 | $3,831,210 – $8,256,280 |
| FY 2025 | 2 | $6,063,372 | $5,578,184 – $6,548,561 |
| FY 2024 | 10 | $1,500,000 | $598,152 – $5,668,542 |
| FY 2023 | 16 | $962,485 | $459,650 – $2,973,814 |
| FY 2022 | 12 | $326,033 | $206,694 – $451,170 |
| FY 2021 | 74 | $337,307 | $150,263 – $536,136 |
For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $10,000,000.
- AUBURN UNIVERSITY $11,844,065 · FY 2023
- OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $11,844,065 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $9,300,000 · FY 2026
- CALSTART, INC. $8,987,332 · FY 2024
- CENTER FOR TRANSPORTATION AND THE ENVIRONMENT, INC. $8,987,332 · FY 2024
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 29, 2026
Change history
Since we first indexed it- Aug 8, 2026 Eligibility text updated