Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. DOS-SAU-2602 · U.S. Mission to Saudi Arabia

Open

AI Partnership & Exchange for Tech Leaders (APEX)

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$150,000 – $250,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 8, 2026 6 days left
Posted
Jul 26, 2026
Last verified
3 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Other
Official description from grants.gov

Program Purpose The U.S. Embassy Riyadh Public Diplomacy Section is accepting applications for a cooperative agreement to run the AI Partnership & Exchange for Tech Leaders. The goal of this program is to connect rising Saudi Artificial Intelligence (AI) leaders with American experts in business, tech, and academia. This initiative helps participants build professional networks, study U.S. technology standards, and create lasting partnerships between American and Saudi institutions. Target Audience and Participants The program should be designed for Saudi nationals aged 20 to 30. Participants must be undergraduate, graduate, or post-doctoral students, or recent graduates who are studying or working in AI-related fields (such as data science, robotics, or machine learning). They must also speak fluent English and show strong leadership potential. Provide three complete budget scenarios for 12 participants, 16 participants (primary), and 20 participants. Applicants must provide budget scenarios for three participant cohort sizes: · 12 participants · 16 participants (primary scenario) · 20 participants Each budget scenario should maintain program quality while demonstrating cost-effectiveness at different scales. Program Components In addition to the planning and preparation with the Embassy and partner organizations, the selected partner will plan and run three mandatory participant-focused phases: · Phase 1: Preparation (Virtual and In-Person) around April 1, 2027: The partner will create an online application portal and launch a recruiting campaign. They will host a virtual hackathon to help short-listed candidates design an AI project idea. Top project ideas will determine who wins a spot on the exchange trip. The partner will also train the group in leadership, project management, and cross-cultural communication before they travel. · Phase 2: U.S. Exchange (Two Weeks) in July 2027: The partner will lead a two-week summer trip to two or three U.S. cities. The trip will include visits to American tech hubs and universities, networking events, workshops at a major AI summit, and cultural activities. The partner will also match each participant with a professional mentor for three months of bi-weekly virtual career coaching after the exchange program component. Phase 3: Follow-On Summit (Saudi Arabia) on/around January 2028: Within three to six months after the trip, the partner will organize a showcase event in Saudi Arabia. Participants will present their follow-on capstone AI projects to local tech communities, government leaders, and investors. This could be adjacent to major Saudi AI summits or a USG-related event.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 19.040 · Public Diplomacy Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (19.040), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 129 $2,750 $995 – $9,900
FY 2025 255 $3,000 $757 – $12,110
FY 2024 2,913 $17,834 $5,673 – $40,000
FY 2023 3,299
FY 2022 3,487
FY 2021 3,935

For comparison, this notice advertises $150,000 – $250,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 14,018 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Individuals (5,145), Higher education (1,499), Nonprofit (1,184) of 14,018 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states DC (33) · NY (29) · CA (16) · FL (16) · MA (6)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $2,650,000 · FY 2024
  2. PURDUE UNIVERSITY $746,965 · FY 2024
  3. OKLAHOMA STATE UNIVERSITY $499,043 · FY 2026
  4. GEORGETOWN UNIVERSITY $490,000 · FY 2026
  5. BLUE CRADLE FOUNDATION $350,000 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 9, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Jul 28, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced