Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. O-BJA-2026-172662 · Bureau of Justice Assistance

Open

U.S. Department of Justice FY26 Coordinated Tribal Assistance Solicitation Notice of Funding Opportunity

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$0 – $5,600,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Oct 15, 2026
Posted
Jul 24, 2026
Last verified
4 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Law, Justice and Legal Services
Official description from grants.gov

The Coordinated Tribal Assistance Solicitation (CTAS) responds to tribal leaders’ requests to improve and simplify the DOJ grant-making process. Since fiscal year (FY) 2010, DOJ has combined many of its tribal government-specific competitive funding opportunities into one notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) and requires only one application from each tribe or tribal consortium under CTAS. This approach provides federally recognized tribes and tribal consortia the opportunity to develop a comprehensive approach to public safety and victimization issues. The FY 2026 CTAS NOFO refers to the DOJ’s tribal government-specific competitive grant programs as purpose areas (PA). Applicants may select the PA(s) that best address their tribe’s concerns related to public safety, criminal and juvenile justice, substance use related crime(s) and access to treatment and recovery support, including Tribal healing to wellness courts, and the needs of victims and survivors of domestic violence, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalking. The DOJ components offering tribal government grant resources through this NOFO are listed below. Applicants should refer to the PA-specific information on focus areas, funding priorities, and allowable and unallowable costs to inform the development of their project design.

Who can apply

  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 16.043 · Veterans Treatment Court Discretionary Grant Program

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.043), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 1 $999,463 $999,463 – $999,463
FY 2025 0
FY 2024 19 $999,999 $900,000 – $1,000,000
FY 2023 27 $949,939 $875,662 – $950,000
FY 2022 22 $750,000 $749,136 – $1,158,852
FY 2021 0

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $5,600,000.

Who wins it Local government (45), State government (14), Higher education (3) of 69 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NC (12) · NV (5) · TX (4) · AL (3) · CA (2)
Largest recent awards
  1. ALL RISE FOR JUSTICE $3,250,000 · FY 2023
  2. JUDICIARY COURTS OF STATE OF KANSAS $2,500,000 · FY 2024
  3. OREGON JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT $2,500,000 · FY 2024
  4. SOUTH CAROLINA OFFICE OF THE STATE TREASURER $2,500,000 · FY 2024
  5. STATE OF ARKANSAS JUDICIARY ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF THE COURTS $2,000,000 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 9, 2026

Assistance listing 16.583 · Children's Justice Act Partnerships for Indian Communities

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.583), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 6 $450,000 $447,969 – $450,000
FY 2024 8 $450,000 $333,380 – $450,000
FY 2023 7 $449,795 $428,239 – $449,905
FY 2022 7 $438,312 $426,411 – $450,000
FY 2021 18 $424,830 $395,213 – $449,992

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $5,600,000.

Who wins it Tribal government (46) of 46 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states OK (8) · AK (5) · MT (4) · ID (3) · MI (3)
Largest recent awards
  1. ALASKA NATIVE JUSTICE CENTER, INC $450,000 · FY 2021
  2. CENTRAL COUNCIL TLINGIT AND HAIDA INDIAN TRIBES OF ALASKA $450,000 · FY 2022
  3. CHEROKEE NATION $450,000 · FY 2024
  4. CHOCTAW NATION OF OKLAHOMA $450,000 · FY 2023
  5. COEUR D'ALENE TRIBE $450,000 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 9, 2026

Assistance listing 16.585 · Treatment Court Discretionary Grant Program

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.585), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 21 $400,000 $400,000 – $925,000
FY 2025 0
FY 2024 73 $900,000 $730,000 – $1,000,000
FY 2023 88 $898,174 $530,321 – $1,000,000
FY 2022 222 $600,000 $549,403 – $750,000
FY 2021 151 $431,618 $320,827 – $499,837

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $5,600,000.

Who wins it Local government (302), State government (119), Tribal government (97) of 555 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (43) · OH (29) · NY (18) · MI (16) · MT (15)
Largest recent awards
  1. JUSTICE INNOVATION INC. $7,013,902 · FY 2023
  2. CENTER FOR CHILDREN AND FAMILY FUTURES, INC. $4,999,988 · FY 2022
  3. ALL RISE FOR JUSTICE $4,000,000 · FY 2022
  4. TRIBAL LAW AND POLICY INSTITUTE $3,478,520 · FY 2022
  5. NATIONAL CENTER FOR STATE COURTS $3,400,000 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 9, 2026

Assistance listing 16.596 · Tribal Justice Assistance

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.596), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 38 $900,000 $887,857 – $970,402
FY 2025 0
FY 2024 44 $899,996 $852,338 – $900,000
FY 2023 63 $899,780 $605,570 – $900,005
FY 2022 65 $884,921 $330,325 – $900,000
FY 2021 9 $971,630 $907,068 – $999,948

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $5,600,000.

Who wins it Tribal government (208), Nonprofit (6), Higher education (5) of 219 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states AK (42) · OK (28) · CA (24) · WA (21) · NM (11)
Largest recent awards
  1. FOND DU LAC RESERVATION $2,956,544 · FY 2022
  2. TOLOWA DEE-NI NATION $2,600,000 · FY 2022
  3. TRIBAL LAW AND POLICY INSTITUTE $2,300,000 · FY 2023
  4. FOX VALLEY TECHNICAL COLLEGE $2,000,000 · FY 2022
  5. FORT PECK ASSINIBOINE & SIOUX TRIBES $1,900,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 4, 2026

Assistance listing 16.710 · Public Safety Partnership and Community Policing Grants

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.710), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 227 $248,670 $143,336 – $499,848
FY 2025 48 $350,000 $192,225 – $500,000
FY 2024 1,864 $363,338 $178,165 – $500,000
FY 2023 932
FY 2022 863
FY 2021 1

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $5,600,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,935 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Local government (2,871), Tribal government (370), State government (223) of 3,935 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (63) · TX (47) · NJ (35) · NC (34) · NY (26)
Largest recent awards
  1. TEXAS STATE UNIVERSITY $10,469,448 · FY 2024
  2. CITY OF LOS ANGELES $9,544,040 · FY 2024
  3. CITY OF ALBUQUERQUE $6,250,000 · FY 2024
  4. CITY OF CHICAGO $6,250,000 · FY 2024
  5. CITY OF CINCINNATI $6,250,000 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 4, 2026

Assistance listing 16.731 · Tribal Youth Program

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.731), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 35 $546,353 $100,000 – $546,353
FY 2025 0
FY 2024 24 $500,000 $100,000 – $500,000
FY 2023 43 $483,038 $119,580 – $500,000
FY 2022 52 $499,828 $149,226 – $508,245
FY 2021 14 $416,030 $150,000 – $416,030

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $5,600,000.

Who wins it Tribal government (156), Nonprofit (11), Higher education (1) of 168 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states AK (37) · CA (24) · OK (21) · WA (14) · MT (6)
Largest recent awards
  1. TRIBAL LAW AND POLICY INSTITUTE $6,305,000 · FY 2024
  2. RURAL ALASKA COMMUNITY ACTION PROGRAM INC $1,000,000 · FY 2022
  3. AMERICAN PROBATION AND PAROLE ASSOCIATION, INC. $600,000 · FY 2024
  4. CATAWBA INDIAN NATION $546,354 · FY 2026
  5. CONFEDERATED TRIBES OF COLVILLE RESERVATION $546,354 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 4, 2026